Dominant Baldassarri Claims Victory at Jerez

1 Mins read
Lorenzo Baldassarri - Photo Credit:

Lorenzo Baldassarri followed up his sensational pole position with a dominant victory in Sunday’s Spanish Grand Prix. The Italian was unchallenged for most of the race as he claimed his second career win, moving him to within nine points of overall leader Francesco Bagnaia who finished third behind Miguel Oliveira.

In the early stages, the race was shaping up to be a repeat of the battle between Baldassarri and Alex Marquez during Saturday’s qualifying session, Marquez grabbing the lead at the start. However, the Pons rider would strike back at the Dry Sack hairpin on lap three, outbraking Marquez into the right-hander, and the Spaniard would soon throw away any hopes of victory with a crash at turn two shortly before half distance.

Despite the best efforts of Oliveira, Baldassarri would ultimately prove too strong as the gap gradually increased during the second half of the race. Oliveira wound up a lonely second while Bagnaia was forced to withstand intense pressure from Xavi Vierge in the closing stages, eventually holding off the Dynavolt rider for third.

Mattia Pasini recovered from a poor qualifying position to salvage fifth ahead of Brad Binder who faded after a bright start to finish sixth. Marcel Schrotter pipped the Swiss Innovative Investors KTMs of Sam Lowes and Iker Lecuona to take seventh while Fabio Quartararo gave Speed Up their first top ten result of the year.


Moto2 Gran Premio Red Bull de Espana: (Result)

[table id=2968 /]

Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.

Leave a Reply