F4 British Championship

Jewiss Wins Race One After Contact with Hauger

1 Mins read
Credit: F4 British Championship

Kiern Jewiss took another F4 British Championship win to further close up in the standings, as he  came through from third during a dramatic opening race at Thruxton.

An incident between the Double R Racing driver and Dennis Hauger in the final lap proved to be the talking point of the race, though no punishment was given to either driver.

The race had begun with an incident for Manuel Sulaiman, as three other cars were forced to pit. Up front though, it was a strong start by Hauger in third. All eyes were on Johnathan Hoggard as he leapt from fifth to first by the end of the opening lap, soon opening up a lead. Hauger and Jewiss were not prepared to let him sail off though, eventually working together to close in on the leader.

The trio seemed all equally in contention for the lead, until Hoggard found himself under pressure from Paavo Tonteri. With his tyres also giving up, it gave an opportunity for Jewiss and Hauger to continue their fight alone.

On the final lap though the pair found themselves getting a little too close for comfort. Hauger tried to block off Jewiss with the two making contact and Hauger coming off worse, retiring from the race. This left Jewiss in position to take an easy victory with Ayrton Simmons, after making it up to sixth in the first lap, eventually taking second place by the end of the race.

Tonteri would collect the final podium place as a result, with Jack Doohan in fourth after a disastrous start from the TRS Arden driver had seen him scupper any chance of victory.  Like Simmons, Patrik Pasma had been another driver plagued by grid penalty’s, but recovered to take fifth in the closing laps as former race leader Hoggard dropped down to sixth from Josh Skelton and Lucca Allen.

Pasma will start on pole for race two.

Related posts
F4 British Championship

Bilinski hoping Carlin switch brings title success in second British F4 campaign

3 Mins read
Roman Bilinski enters his second season of British F4 with the full intent of gunning for the championship after joining Carlin over the winter break
F4 British Championship

Second season drivers top the times at Thruxton pre-season test

2 Mins read
Matias Zagazeta tops the timesheets at British F4 Thruxton test, with fellow second year drivers Pulling and Bilinski hot on his heels
F4 British Championship

Zagazeta looking for sophomore season glory in new Argenti colours

2 Mins read
Matias Zagazeta looks ahead to his second season of British F4 in 2021 after joining Argenti Motorsport in what the Peruvian racer hopes will be a fruitful year

Leave a Reply