Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Lundgaard Secures Pau Pole as MP Motorsport Lock out Front Row

1 Mins read
Christian Lundgaard - MP Motorsport
Credit: Gregory Eyckmans

Christian Lundgaard took the first pole position of the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup season on Saturday, with the Renault Sport Academy star edging out MP Motorsport team-mate Alex Peroni by just 0.007 seconds around the streets of Pau.

Despite spots of rain, all seventeen drivers were able to remain on dry tyres during the session, and it was the Dane who left it late to take top spot with a lap of 1:14.080s, denying Peroni the position by the tiniest of margins.

Behind the leading two was Tech 1 Racing’s Alexander Smolyar, who had topped the session for most of the session before dropping to third when the times tumbled, with the Russian being joined on row two by R-ace GP’s Logan Sargeant.

R-ace GP duo Charles Milesi and Victor Martins will line-up on row three, while the Red Bull-backed Neil Verhagen was more than seven-tenths of a second off the pole time in seventh for Tech 1 Racing, with the American finishing ahead of team-mates Thomas Neubauer and Frank Bird.

Arthur Rougier, the third Renault-backed driver in the field alongside Lundgaard and Martins, ended tenth for Fortec Motorsports after tumbling down the order late on, while Anders Motorsport’s Doureid Ghattas ended outside the top ten but the leading full-time NEC competitor ahead of R-ace GP’s Gabriel Gandula and Formula Motorsport duo Nicolas Melin and Nicolas Pironneau.

The field is rounded out by ScoRace Team’s Sharon Scolari, Lamo Racing Car’s Thierry Malhomme and Anders Motorsport’s Phil Hill.

Related posts
Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup Will Not Return in 2019

1 Mins read
The Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup has ceased to be after thirteen years, with promoter Mick de Haas blaming ‘ill-conceived’ plans by the FIA for the categories demise.
Formula Renault 2.0 NECFormula Renault EurocupSeason Review

Season Review: Formula Renault 2.0 (Eurocup and NEC) – Fewtrell and Ghattas Take Titles

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and Northern European Cup seasons, with championship triumphs for Max Fewtrell and Douried Ghattas.
Formula Renault 2.0 NECFormula Renault Eurocup

Fewtrell Capitalises on Lundgaard Misfortune for Second Hockenheim Win

2 Mins read
Max Fewtrell moved further ahead in the championship after taking victory in race two in Germany as long-time leader Christian Lundgaard was forced into retirement.

Leave a Reply