Oliveira Hands KTM Victory in Mugello Thriller

by Louis Suddaby

Miguel Oliveira claimed his and KTM’s first victory of the 2018 Moto2 season after a thrilling last lap battle with Lorenzo Baldassarri at Mugello. The Portuguese rider won a gripping four-way fight for the lead, enabling him to close the gap on championship leader Francesco Bagnaia, who could only manage fourth, to 13 points.

The dramatic finish to the Grand Prix was matched by an eventful start as Marcel Schrotter stormed into the lead at San Donato, only to crash out at the very next corner. Polesitter Mattia Pasini regained the advantage as a result but he too would tumble, losing the front end of his Kalex with eight laps remaining as he sought to make a decisive break.

Oliveira, despite starting eleventh on the grid, was now the new leader but a bold move by Baldassarri saw him hit the front three laps from home. With victory in sight though, a wild moment on the exit of Borgo San Lorenzo opened the door for Oliveira to edge past, earning him a lead he would maintain through the rest of the final lap.

Despite appearing to have the superior late race pace, Bagnaia was relegated to fourth on the final lap by the sensational Joan Mir, the rookie taking his second consecutive rostrum. Alex Marquez was fifth on the sister Marc VDS Kalex while Brad Binder took the second Red Bull KTM to sixth from nineteenth on the grid. Luca Marini was seventh ahead of Andrea Locatelli and Xavi Vierge while Simone Corsi completed the top ten.


Moto2 Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley: (Result)

144. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo39:42.018
27. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexPons HP40+0.184
336. Joan MirKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS+0.334
442. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR46+0.484
573. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS+3.537
641. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+5.985
710. Luca MariniKalexSky Racing Team VR46+9.908
85. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+11.219
997. Xavi ViergeKalexDynavolt Intact GP+12.371
1024. Simone CorsiKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+12.675
1120. Fabio QuartararoSpeed UpMB Conveyors - Speed Up Racing+17.843
1277. Dominique AegerterKTMKiefer Racing+20.353
1327. Iker LecuonaKTMSwiss Innovative Investors+28.751
1416. Joe RobertsNTSNTS RW Racing GP+32.436
154. Steven OdendaalNTSNTS RW Racing GP+32.465
1632. Isaac VinalesKalexSAG Team+33.054
1766. Niki TuuliKalexSIC Racing Team+33.505
1889. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+43.900
1951. Eric GranadoSuterForward Racing Team+47.264
2014. Hector GarzoTech 3Tech 3 Racing+56.603
2121. Federico FuligniKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+1:13.609
2218. Xavi CardelusKalexTeam Stylobike+1:27.927
NC45. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+6 Laps
NC40. Hector BarberaKalexPons HP40+6 Laps
NC54. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+8 Laps
NC95. Jules DaniloKalexNashi Argan SAG Team+9 Laps
NC62. Stefano ManziSuterForward Racing Team+11 Laps
NC52. Danny KentSpeed UpMB Conveyors - Speed Up Racing+12 Laps
NC13. Romano FenatiKalexMarinelli Snipers Team+14 Laps
NC22. Sam LowesKTMSwiss Innovative Investors+15 Laps
NC9. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+17 Laps
NC64. Bo BendsneyderTech 3Tech 3 Racing+21 Laps
NC23. Marcel SchrotterKalexDynavolt Intact GP+21 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More