Quartararo Claims Memorable First Win

1 Mins read
Fabio Quartararo - Photo Credit:

Fabio Quartararo proved his maiden Moto2 pole position on Saturday was no fluke by claiming his first Grand Prix victory 24 hours later. The French teenager pulled clear of the chasing pack in the second half of the race, eventually winning from the impressive Miguel Oliveira who salvaged a sensational second from seventeenth on the grid.

Oliveira’s recovery was the story of the early laps with the Portuguese rider climbing to sixth almost immediately with some aggressive overtaking. By lap eight, Miguel was leading the entire field after overhauling early pacesetter Alex Marquez but Quartararo had been biding his time in third, eventually easing past the KTM into turn four on lap ten to take a lead he wouldn’t relinquish.

Marquez completed the podium ahead of the Dynavolt team-mates Marcel Schrotter and Xavi Vierge with Brad Binder completing the top six on the second Red Bull KTM, edging out Lorenzo Baldassarri. Championship leader Francesco Bagnaia had an unusually quiet afternoon, struggling for grip throughout and toiling his way to eighth, seeing his 13 point lead virtually vanish.

The exit of rookie duo Joan Mir and Romano Fenati, as well as regular frontrunner Mattia Pasini, promoted a fast-finishing Sam Lowes to ninth with Iker Lecuona rounding out the top ten on the second SII KTM.


Moto2 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya: (Result)

[table id=3111 /]

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.