Back-to-Back GP3 Poles for Anthoine Hubert

Anthoine Hubert: 2018 GP3 Series - Hungaroring
Credit: Zak Mauger/GP3 Series Media Service

ART Grand Prix‘s Anthoine Hubert has taken pole position for the GP3 Series Feature Race at the Hungaroring.

The Frenchman is joined on the front row by team-mate Nikita Mazepin with Campos Racing‘s Leonardo Pulcini completing the top three.

Having sat out of practice yesterday Devlin DeFrancesco will not be taking part in the weekend due to illness and as a result not being deemed fit to race.

There was an early red flag in the session after Niko Kari who had gone quickest in the first sector lost control and hit Mazepin with the incident under investigation.

Mazepin was able to continue whilst Kari’s session was over.

When the session resumed, it was Pedro Piquet leading them out to get the running back underway.

At the top of the timings, the ARTs were squabbling over P1 as the drivers headed into the pits before their second runs.

With the others returning to the track Trident‘s Alesi remained in the pits with an issue.

Championship leader Hubert seized the advantage and went quickest which the Frenchman was able to hold onto as the chequered flag fell.

Despite having to have his suspension changed during the red flag period, Mazepin starts alongside Hubert in second.

Pulcini spoils the ART party having qualified in third place.

Jake Hughes and Callum Ilott start in fourth and fifth meaning all four ARTs start in the top five.

Coming off the back of a strong performance at SilverstoneRyan Tveter starts in sixth with new team-mate David Beckmann behind.

Dorian BoccolacciJoey Mawson and Juan Manuel Correa complete the top ten.

The race gets underway at 18.30 local time.

2018 GP3 Series Results: Hungaroring – Qualifying

12Anthoine HubertFRAART Grand Prix1:31.409
23Nikita MazepinFINART Grand Prix+0.075
318Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing+0.106
44Jake HughesGBRART Grand Prix+0.243
51Callum IlottGBRART Grand Prix+0.288
67Ryan TveterUSATrident+0.423
78David BeckmannDEUTrident+0.502
822Dorian BoccolacciFRAMP Motorsport+0.555
916Joey MawsonAUSArden International +0.637
1010Juan Manuel CorreaUSAJenzer Motorsport+0.753
116Giuliano AlesiFRATrident+0.755
1220Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+0.763
135Pedro PiquetBRATrident+0.803
1419Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing+0.856
159Tatiana CalderonCOLJenzer Motorsport+0.857
1614Gabriel AubryFRAArden International +1.359
1711Jannes FittjeDEUJenzer Motorsport+1.535
1815Julien FalcheroFRAArden International +1.591
1924Niko KariFINMP Motorsport+3.661