Binder Beats Mir to Maiden Moto2 Win

by Louis Suddaby
Brad Binder - Sachsenring - Race Winner

Brad Binder won a three-way battle for his maiden Moto2 victory at the Sachsenring as the title battle took another twist. The South African saw off Joan Mir and Luca Marini, both themselves chasing their maiden win, while KTM team-mate Miguel Oliveira closed the gap on series leader Francesco Bagnaia who endured a luckless afternoon.

The championship leader was well placed to add to his four victories so far in 2018, running third on the second lap, until a crash for polesitter Mattia Pasini at the final corner. Bagnaia was forced to run through the gravel as he took avoiding action and fell all the way back to 26th. Although he rode admirably to salvage four points for twelfth, his championship lead would shrink dramatically.

Marini was deprived of the lead by Mir on lap five but both would fall prey to the inspired Binder who stormed past both on lap eleven. Although his pursuers were able to keep pace with the KTM, Brad rode wheel-perfect on his way to a first intermediate class victory. The MotoGP-bound Mir held off Marini on the drag race to the finish line to claim second, both taking their career best Moto2 results.

Oliveira salvaged fourth from 15th on the grid while Sam Lowes ensured three KTMs would make up the top five, pipping home favourite Marcel Schrotter. Xavi Vierge finished seventh ahead of Simone Corsi and Fabio Quartararo while Jorge Navarro completed the top ten.


Moto2 Pramac Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland (Result)

141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo39:46.306
236. Joan MirKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS+0.779
310. Luca MariniKalexSky Racing Team VR46+0.933
444. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+2.143
522. Sam LowesKTMSwiss Innovative Investors+6.376
623. Marcel SchrotterKalexDynavolt Intact GP+6.513
797. Xavi ViergeKalexDynavolt Intact GP+15.544
824. Simone CorsiKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+15.674
920. Fabio QuartararoSpeed UpLightech - Speed Up Racing+16.004
109. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+16.005
1187. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing+16.596
1242. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR46+17.304
1373. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS+17.458
1477. Dominique AegerterKTMKiefer Racing+18.138
1540. Augusto FernandezKalexPons HP40+23.816
1613. Romano FenatiKalexMarinelli Snipers Team+24.611
1789. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+25.617
184. Steven OdendaalNTSNTS RW Racing GP+28.019
1927. Iker LecuonaKTMSwiss Innovative Investors+28.173
2064. Bo BendsneyderTech 3Tech 3 Racing+36.398
2151. Eric GranadoSuterForward Racing Team+40.199
2216. Joe RobertsNTSNTS RW Racing GP+41.509
2321. Federico FuligniKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+1:04.024
2418. Xavi CardelusKalexTeam Stylobike+1 Lap
2562. Stefano ManziSuterForward Racing Team+7 Laps
NC32. Isaac VinalesKalexSAG Team+12 Laps
NC52. Danny KentSpeed UpLightech - Speed Up Racing+21 Laps
NC45. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+24 Laps
NC7. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexPons HP40+26 Laps
NC54. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+27 Laps
NC5. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+27 Laps
NC95. Jules DaniloKalexNashi Argan SAG Team+28 Laps
NS66. Niki TuuliKalexSIC Racing TeamInjured

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More