Bagnaia Dominates Spielberg Moto2 Qualifying

by Louis Suddaby
Francesco Bagnaia - Spielberg - Pole Position

Francesco Bagnaia dominated the Moto2 qualifying session at the Red Bull Ring to claim pole position for the Austrian Grand Prix. The Sky VR46 rider dominated either side of a red flag stoppage, caused by a crash for his team-mate Luca Marini, and will start just ahead of title rival Miguel Oliveira who qualified a season’s best of second.

As is so often the case in the intermediate class, many riders set their fastest times in the early stages of qualifying with Bagnaia unleashing a blistering sequence of laps, straight out of the box. The Italian eventually lowered the benchmark time to a 1:29.409, giving him a six-tenth cushion over Oliveira, and when Marini’s crashed dropped debris and gravel at turn seven, that looked to be that.

At the restart though, Fabio Quartararo jumped up to second on the Speed Up, becoming the second rider to break the 90-second barrier, and this triggered a response from Oliveira. The championship leader would improve to a 1:29.719, effectively halving the deficit between himself and Bagnaia to take second, his first front row starting spot of the 2018 season.

Jorge Navarro snatched fourth from Alex Marquez after the Marc VDS rider suffered a crash at turn two while Mattia Pasini took the final spot on row two. Marcel Schrotter will start seventh ahead of Brad Binder and Lorenzo Baldassarri, another rider to tumble, while Marini dropped all the way to tenth in the end.

The most damaging crash of all came right at the beginning of the session as Xavi Vierge tangled with Steven Odendaal. The contact unseated Vierge and the Spaniard, who lies seventh in the championship, will be forced to miss tomorrow’s race with a broken wrist.


Moto2 eyetime Motorrad Grand Prix von Osterreich (Qualifying)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
142. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR461:29.409
244. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:29.719
320. Fabio QuartararoSpeed Up(+)Ego - Speed Up Racing1:29.930
49. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:29.971
573. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS1:30.058
654. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:30.069
723. Marcel SchrotterKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:30.095
841. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:30.125
97. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexPons HP401:30.135
1010. Luca MariniKalexSky Racing Team VR461:30.194
1187. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:30.195
1227. Iker LecuonaKTMSwiss Innovative Investors1:30.197
1340. Augusto FernandezKalexPons HP401:30.215
145. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:30.270
1513. Romano FenatiKalexMarinelli Snipers Team1:30.286
1622. Sam LowesKTMSwiss Innovative Investors1:30.336
1752. Danny KentSpeed Up(+)Ego - Speed Up Racing1:30.401
1824. Simone CorsiKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:30.409
1977. Dominique AegerterKTMKiefer Racing1:30.452
2036. Joan MirKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS1:30.486
2145. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:30.555
2289. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:30.555
2362. Stefano ManziSuterForward Racing Team1:30.654
2416. Joe RobertsNTSNTS RW Racing GP1:30.794
254. Steven OdendaalNTSNTS RW Racing GP1:30.959
2695. Jules DaniloKalexNashi Argan SAG Team1:31.093
2764. Bo BendsneyderTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:31.132
2897. Xavi ViergeKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:31.377
2966. Niki TuuliKalexSIC Racing Team1:31.404
3032. Isaac VinalesSuterForward Racing Team1:31.468
3155. Alejandro MedinaKalexSAG Team1:31.790
3218. Xavi CardelusKalexTeam Stylobike1:32.012
3321. Federico FuligniKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:33.725

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More