David Beckmann Secures Second Consecutive Pole Position at Monza

by Paul Hensby
David Beckmann - Trident - Autodromo Nazionale Monza

David Beckmann proved that Spa-Francorchamps was not just a fluke as the Trident driver took his second consecutive GP3 Series pole position, this time at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza in Italy.

Beckmann, who went on to convert his maiden pole into a maiden victory last weekend, denied Anthoine Hubert top spot by 0.011 seconds, but the Frenchman will be glad to see all of his championship rivals behind him on the grid.

Hubert had set the pace early on and was the ART Grand Prix driver was the first to dip beneath the 1:48s bracket and the championship leader was on course to further extend his championship advantage, only for Beckmann’s lap of 1:37.959 to deny him that opportunity.

Leonardo Pulcini was third fastest for Campos Racing, 0.199 seconds off Beckmann’s time, while Juan Manuel Correa starred to put his Jenzer Motorsport machine into fourth ahead of Trident’s Giuliano Alesi and ART Grand Prix’s Callum Ilott.

Ryan Tveter was seventh in the third Trident ahead of Tatiana Calderón, who enjoyed her best Qualifying session of the season in eight for Jenzer Motorsport, while Pedro Piquet of Trident and Niko Kari of MP Motorsport rounded out the top ten.

ART Grand Prix duo Nikita Mazepin and Jake Hughes will be disappointed with their sessions, with the pair ending eleventh and twelfth fastest ahead of Jannes Fittje, Simo Laaksonen and Joey Mawson.

Fittje was later disqualifed from the session when his Jenzer car was unable to provide the one-litre of fuel required, although he will be permitted to start the race from the back of the field.

Earlier in the day, the scheduled free practice session was postponed due to heavy rain, with a pre-Qualifying session of ten minutes taking place instead, and it was Calderón who paced the field ahead of the trio of ART Grand Prix drivers, Mazepin, Hubert and Hughes.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Qualifying Result

18David BeckmannGERTrident1:37.959
22Anthoine HubertFRAART Grand Prix1:37.970
318Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing1:38.158
410Juan Manuel CorreaUSAJenzer Motorsport1:38.181
56Giuliano AlesiFRATrident1:38.203
61Callum IlottGBRART Grand Prix1:38.255
77Ryan TveterUSATrident1:38.289
89Tatiana CalderonCOLJenzer Motorsport1:38.333
95Pedro PiquetBRZTrident1:38.408
1024Niko KariFINMP Motorsport1:38.487
113Nikita MazepinRUSART Grand Prix1:38.586
124Jake HughesGBRART Grand Prix1:38.620
1311Jannes FittjeGERJenzer Motorsport1:38.748
1419Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing1:38.850
1516Joey MawsonAUSArden International1:38.896
1622Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport1:38.965
1714Gabriel AubryFRAArden International1:39.035
1820Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing1:39.049
1915Julien FalcheroFRAArden International1:39.108
2023Devlin DeFrancescoCANMP Motorsport1:39.635

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More