F4 British Championship

Hoggard victorious in Rockingham race 2

1 Mins read
Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Jonathan Hoggard claimed his third British Formula 4 victory of the season as Kiren Jewiss extended his championship lead.

Hoggard managed a safety car restart in his lights-to-flag victory, finishing almost a second ahead of Jewiss in second.

Jewiss came under attack from championship rival Ayrton Simmons at the start of the race. The pair ran side by side in a battle for third at the hairpin, but Simmons failed to stop his car in time and collided with Arden’s Sebastian Priaulx.

Priaulx was taken out of the race on the spot but Simmons was able to continue for a few corners before his suspension gave way and his car was beached in the gravel.

The safety car was called out to rescue the cars, but not before Jamie Sharp had collided with Hampus Ericsson as he tried to dive up the inside of a number of cars.

Sharp was left stranded at the side of the track while Ericsson made it to the pits before he retired with suspension damage.

Hoggard led Jewiss, Dennis Hauger and Jack Doohan on the restart, but the order didn’t stay that way for long. As Hoggard pulled away, Doohan set about challenging his Red Bull Junior team-mate for the final podium position. He managed to snatch third, leaving Hauger to defend against Patrick Pasma, who had made a strong start from the midfield.

Pasma also passed Hauger and began to challenge Doohan in the closing stages of the race. Jewiss, Doohan, and Pasma were running nose to tail as the clock ticked down, but neither Doohan nor Pasma could make up another position before the chequered flag.

Jewiss, with his 13th podium of the season, extends his championship lead to 45 points over Ayrton Simmons.

Hauger finished fifth, ahead of Paavo Tonteri and Manuel Sulaimon.

Josh Skelton, Sebastian Alvarez, and Luca Allen rounded out the top 10 and the finishers.

Related posts
F4 British Championship

Matthew Rees dominates Snetterton again to take second win of the weekend and claim second place in the standings

2 Mins read
Matthew Rees takes his second win of the weekend at Snetterton in dominant fashion to vault himself into second place in the British F4 standings
F4 British Championship

Matthew Rees converts pole position to maiden British F4 victory in race one at Snetterton

2 Mins read
Matthew Rees takes race one honours to score his maiden British F4 victory after commanding performance from pole position at Snetterton
F4 British Championship

JHR rookie Matthew Rees grabs pole position at Snetterton to continue 2021 hot streak

2 Mins read
Rookie Matthew Rees takes yet another race one pole position for JHR Developments’ as the 15-year old looks to kickstart his championship charge in earnest at Snetterton

Leave a Reply