Binder snatches last-minute pole from Schrotter in Aragon

1 Mins read
Brad Binder Aragon QP 2018

Brad Binder has taken pole in Moto2 qualifying for the Aragon GP, making a last-minute improvement to take pole from Marcel Schrotter. Schrotter had dominated the whole session and looked to have pole secured before Binder’s lap but will now start the race in 2nd, with Jorge Navarro in 3rd.

Heading into the session it was Alex Marquez top of the combined practice times, but Marquez fell at turn 9 in the first few minutes of qualifying. The bike didn’t suffer much damage and he was able to continue, setting an identical lap time to that of Navarro. Both riders finished the session on exactly the same time but Navarro got the front row position as he set the time first.

Marquez’s team-mate Joan Mir caused some controversy, cruising on the racing line in front of Mattia Pasini. Pasini had to take avoiding action and lost time on his lap, but no penalty has been given or discussed as yet. Pasini finished 6th fastest whilst Mir is seemingly struggling this weekend, finishing 15th.

In terms of the championship, Francesco Bagnaia finished 5th fastest. This result is especially good when you consider his rival Miguel Oliveira is down in 18th on the grid. Oliveira is typically not the strongest rider in qualifying, but his team-mate on pole clearly shows the bike can do much better. Starting so far down the grid won’t help him shrink the points deficit in the championship and he will have to be careful to avoid any incidents at the start in the middle of the pack.

2018 Moto2 Gran Premio de Aragon – Qualifying Results:

[table id=3442 /]

Avatar photo
44 posts

About author
Covering MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3 for The Checkered Flag and studying Digital Media at the University of Sheffield. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
DakarMoto2World Rally-Raid Championship

Carlos Tatay pursuing cross-country rally, Dakar Rally

2 Mins read
After suffering a spinal cord injury in a European Moto2 crash that ended his bike racing career, Carlos Tatay will drive an SSV at the Baja Aragón with the goal of someday racing the Dakar Rally.

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.