Dalla Porta Grabs Dramatic First Win at Misano

by Louis Suddaby
Lorenzo Dalla Porta - Misano - Race Winner

Lorenzo Dalla Porta took a surprising first victory at Misano following a San Marino Grand Prix which saw another dramatic swing in the fight for the title. Marco Bezzecchi had looked set to extend his championship lead until he crashed out of a winning position, opening the door for Jorge Martin to overhaul him with second place.

The shape of the race had already been dictated by an enormous pile-up at the end of the second lap with Jaume Masia crashing on the exit of the final corner. The Spaniard’s high-side caused mayhem behind with Aron Canet, Enea Bastianini, Ayumu Sasaki and Nicolo Bulega all powerless to avoid the stricken motorcycle, before colliding with each other. Fortunately, all riders avoided serious injury.

The chaos created a large split in the main field with five riders finding themselves the right side of it, leaving them alone in the leading group. Bezzecchi led it from Dalla Porta, the two Gresini Hondas of Martin and Fabio Di Giannantonio and Gabriel Rodrigo’s KTM, but a critical error at turn 15 on the penultimate lap saw 25 valuable points disappear for the pre-race championship leader.

Martin was lucky himself to stay upright having taken avoiding action to dodge Bezzecchi’s KTM but the hesitation was enough to let Dalla Porta through. The Leopard rider, who had enjoyed long spells at the front earlier in proceedings, was able to hang on from there to take a well-deserved victory with Martin and Di Giannantonio joining him on the podium.

Jakub Kornfeil won the battle among the chase group to finish fifth ahead of Albert Arenas while Dennis Foggia and Darryn Binder finished side-by-side in seventh and eighth respectively. Andrea Migno was ninth while Niccolo Antonelli completed the top ten for the SIC58 team.


Moto3 GP Octo di San Marino e Della Riviera di Rimini (Result)

148. Lorenzo Dalla PortaHondaLeopard Racing39:38.684
288. Jorge MartinHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.058
321. Fabio Di GiannantonioHondaDel Conca Gresini Moto3+0.122
419. Gabriel RodrigoKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+0.822
584. Jakub KornfeilKTMRedox PruestelGP+6.553
675. Albert ArenasKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+6.859
710. Dennis FoggiaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+7.315
840. Darryn BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+7.380
916. Andrea MignoKTMAngel Nieto Team Moto3+8.608
1023. Niccolo AntonelliHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+8.853
1114. Tony ArbolinoHondaMarinelli Snipers Team+10.408
127. Adam NorrodinHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+10.783
1327. Kaito TobaHondaHonda Team Asia+27.817
1477. Vicente PerezKTMReale Avintia Academy 77+27.897
1522. Kazuki MasakiKTMRBA BOE Skull Rider+28.062
1642. Marcos RamirezKTMBester Capital Dubai+47.155
1781. Stefano NepaKTMCIP - Green Power+34.385
1841. Nakarin AtiratphuvapatHondaHonda Team Asia+47.510
1955. Yari MontellaHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+47.577
203. Kevin ZannoniTM RacingTM Racing Factory 3570 MTA+1 Lap
NC12. Marco BezzecchiKTMRedox PruestelGP+2 Laps
NC24. Tatsuki SuzukiHondaSIC58 Squadra Corse+4 Laps
NC17. John McPheeKTMCIP - Green Power+12 Laps
NC5. Jaume MasiaKTMBester Capital Dubai+22 Laps
NC44. Aron CanetHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+22 Laps
NC71. Ayumu SasakiHondaPetronas Sprinta Racing+22 Laps
NC33. Enea BastianiniHondaLeopard Racing+22 Laps
NC8. Nicolo BulegaKTMSky Racing Team VR46+22 Laps
NC72. Alonso LopezHondaEstrella Galicia 0,0+22 Laps
NS65. Philipp OettlKTMSudmetal Schedl GP RacingInjured

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More