British Superbike

Jake Dixon Dominates to take Oulton Park Pole

2 Mins read
Dixon takes Oulton Park Pole Position
Dixon takes Oulton Park Pole Position (Credit: Lee Hardy Racing)

Jake Dixon’s title hopes have been given a boost after he topped all three parts of qualifying to take pole position for the opening round of the showdown at Oulton Park.

The RAF Regular and Reserves Kawasaki rider took full advantage of a mechanical issue for main title rival Leon Haslam, breaking the circuit record on his way to pole.

The 22-year-old will be joined on the front-row by Tommy Bridewell and Luke Mossey, both of whom made late charges up the order. Meanwhile, Haslam will start race one down in 24th after a disastrous opening session saw the title favourite suffer some form of mechanical problem on his Kawasaki.

Josh Brookes heads the second-row on his Yamaha, alongside Glenn Irwin and Richard Cooper. Bradley Ray will start seventh after slipping down the order in the closing seconds of the session. Tarran Mackenzie is next up in eighth, whilst Danny Buchan finished bottom of the pile in Q3 after a huge crash at Island Bend – a crash which brought the red flag out with only a few minutes remaining.

As Q1 began the riders entered a circuit which was mainly dry with some damp patches in places. There was an early issue for Haslam, with the championship leader running back down pit lane with his JG Speedfit Kawasaki machine. Team boss, Jack Valentine, told British Eurosport that Haslam’s bike had lost cylinder and that he would not be able to make it back out in time.

On the circuit, the opening part of qualifying was topped by Dixon, with a lap-time of 1:36.464. Cooper and Bridewell completed the top three in Q1. The riders who failed to make it through to Q2, alongside Haslam, were; Joe Francis, Fraser Rodgers, Tom Neave, Shaun Winfield and Aaron Zanotti. 

The times began to drop in Q2 as the riders became more accustomed to the mixed track conditions. The middle part of qualifying was topped once again by Dixon, with a lap-time of 1:34.690. Brookes and Glenn Irwin joined him inside the top three.

Those unable to make it through to Q3 were; Andrew Irwin, Jason O’Halloran, showdown contender Peter Hickman, Michael Laverty, Gino Rea, Dan Linfoot, James Ellison, Dean Harrison and Mason Law.

After the opening laps of Q3, it was Dixon who sat at the top of the timing sheets with a 1:33.952 – a new lap record. Moments later the red flag was out following a huge accident for Buchan at Island Bend. Fortunately, the FS-3 Kawasaki rider could be seen walking away from the crash site.

The session was re-started with just under four minutes remaining on the clock. Brookes was the first rider back out onto the circuit, with the Australian’s previous lap being cut short due to the red flag. Brookes would slot into sixth with a 1:35.000.

With seconds remaining on the clock, Brookes would improve further and move up into second spot. He was soon demoted back down to fourth however, as Bridewell and Mossey shot up the standings into second and third places respectively. Ray would fall from second on the grid, down to seventh in the closing stages.

Nobody was able to get close to Dixon though, with the man who sits second in the championship taking a comfortable pole position.

590 posts

About author
Josh is a Sports Journalism graduate and has been a member of the TCF team since 2015. Between 2015 and 2018, Josh focused primarily on British Superbikes and Road Racing events such as the Isle of Man TT. At the beginning of the 2019 season he became the MotoGP Reporter.
Related posts
British Superbike

Exclusive interview with Ben Luxton

3 Mins read
Getting to know one of the UK’s rising talents. Here’s an exclusive interview with British Superstock 600 rider Ben Luxton
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.
British Superbike

British Superbikes announce a tweaked Qualifying format for 2020

1 Mins read
British Superbikes have a new Qualifying format for the 2020 season.