FIA World Rally ChampionshipWRC2WRC3

2018 Dayinsure Wales Rally GB: SS1 – Lappi Leads After Tir Prince

1 Mins read
Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm TOYOTA GAZOO RACING WRT Toyota Yaris WRC
Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Esapekka Lappi headed a Toyota Gazoo Racing 1-2 at Dayinsure Wales Rally GB after edging team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala in Thursday night’s opening speed test.

Stage info: SS1 – Tir Prince, 1.70km

Thursday evening’s curtain-raiser was a short floodlit blast at Tir Prince trotting track and includes a slalom section, donuts and two eye-catching jumps. After a high-speed lap around long and flowing bends of the oval horse racing track, the stage ends with a twisty section on adjoining roads.

Lappi completed the dusty 1.70km stage 0.3sec quicker than fellow Finn Latvala. Both were at the wheel of Yaris World Rally Cars.

Championship leader Thierry Neuville matched Latvala’s time in his Hyundai i20 to tie for second, ahead of title rivals Sébastien Ogier and Ott Tänak.

Ogier finished 0.4 seconds behind the Belgian in a Ford Fiesta, with Estonian Tänak a further 0.2 seconds adrift in his Yaris.

Tänak recovered from a frustrating start to the day when he crashed in his first pass at this morning’s shakedown test in Clocaenog.

After missing the braking point on slippery gravel roads, he slid straight on into a bank and returned to the Deeside service park where his team replaced the cooling package.

Andreas Mikkelsen completed the top six in another i20.

Finnish WRC2 driver Kalle Rovanperä was the fastest in class, putting his Škoda Fabia R5 equal on the timing screen with countryman Teemu Suninen, and firmly in the top ten.

Tidemand Pontus was next in class with a time of 1:24.4, and Spaniard Nil Solans in the Ford third with a respectable 1:24.7.

In WRC3, British driver Tom Williams  (1:38.3) led from Finn Taisko Lario (1:38.8) and the Italian Enrico Brazzoli (1:43.4) in their Peugeot 208’s.

The action switches into the north Wales forests on Friday. Three early morning tests are repeated in the afternoon following mid-leg service in Deeside, with two short fan-friendly tests at Slate Mountain completing the pre-lunch loop. The eight stages cover 110.76km.

[table id=3492 /]

Related posts
FIA World Rally Championship

Ott Tänak: “We head to Belgium on the back of our Finland victory”

3 Mins read
Ott Tänak, Thierry Neuville and Oliver Solberg are determined to bring home great results in Belgium this weekend after the morale boost from winning in Finland
FIA World Rally Championship

Hyundai´s Julien Moncet: "we take a lot of confidence with us to Belgium"

1 Mins read
Hyundai´s deputy team principal Julien Moncet has high hopes for a good result in Belgium this weekend
FIA World Rally Championship

Hyundai and M-Sport are testing this week ahead of the Ypres Rally next weekend

1 Mins read
Just under 48 hours after Rally Finland the teams have already begun testing for the upcoming Ypres Rally on tarmac roads in Belgium