Alesi Sets the Pace in Abu Dhabi GP3 Practice

by Chloe Hewitt
Giuliano Alesi - 2018 GP3 Series - Abu Dhabi Practice

The pace in the final 2018 GP3 Series practice at Yas Marina Circuit was set by Trident‘s Giuliano Alesi.

Alesi, was almost nine tenths faster than team-mate David Beckmann and Arden International‘s Gabriel Aubry.

Beckmann and Aubry had set the same time earlier in the session with Beckmann classified as second as he set the time first.

When the session started, most of the runners headed straight out when the lights went green but ART Grand Prix and Trident sat in pits for a while.

Beckmann, was the last on track at the 15 minute mark whilst ART claimed the top three positions with championship leader Anthoine Hubert quickest from Callum Ilott and Nikita Mazepin.

Hubert went even quicker on his next lap, while Beckmann slotted in a tenth behind.

With much of the field having experience at the Emirati circuit, there was not much in the way of off-track activity.

Leonardo Pulcini was determined to show his recent good form was a true reflection of his ability by setting the pace with 15 minutes remaining on the clock.

Hubert improved but not by enough, while Mazepin ran wide before rejoining at the Viceroy section.

Eyes were on Gabriel Aubry as he set purple sectors as Beckmann claimed the top spot with a concise lap. The Frenchman, ran wide at the final corner to match the German’s time to the thousandth.

Rookie, Jehan Daruvala slotted in just 0.02s behind the pair.

With two minutes remaining, Alesi set the pace in every sector to bring home a lap that smashed that of his rivals.

Beckmann, started improving in the first sector but was well off and the session was over.

In fifth was Joey Mawson was the only other driver within a second of Alesi.

Sacha Fenestraz was sixth ahead of Pulcini, Hubert Richard VerschoorRyan TveterJake Hughes and Mazepin.

Qualifying for the final GP3 race takes place at 15.10 local time.

2018 GP3 Series Results: Yas Marina Circuit – Practice

16Giuliano AlesiFRATrident1m55.676
28David BeckmannDEUTrident+0.892
314Gabriel AubryFRAArden International +0.892
424Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport+0.913
516Joey MawsonAUSArden International +0.979
615Sacha FenestrazFRAArden International +1.377
718Leonardo PulciniITACampos Racing+1.440
82Anthoine HubertFRAART Grand Prix+1.494
923Devlin DeFrancescoCANMP Motorsport+1.494
1022Richard VerschoorNEDMP Motorsport+1.583
117Ryan TveterUSATrident+1.601
124Jake HughesGBRART Grand Prix+1.635
133Nikita MazepinRUSART Grand Prix+1.717
1410Juan Manuel CorreaUSAJenzer Motorsport+1.777
1520Diego MenchacaMEXCampos Racing+1.903
1619Simo LaaksonenFINCampos Racing+1.912
175Pedro PiquetBRATrident+2.051
189Tatiana CalderonCOLJenzer Motorsport+2.150
191Callum IlottGBRART Grand Prix+2.171
2011Jannes FittjeDEUJenzer Motorsport+2.903

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More