Marini Holds Off Dynavolt Challenge for Valencia Pole

1 Mins read
Luca Marini - Photo Credit: Sky Racing Team VR46
Luca Marini - Photo Credit: Sky Racing Team VR46

Luca Marini followed up his maiden Moto2 victory in Malaysia with pole position for the season-ending Valencia Grand Prix. The Italian led for much of the qualifying session before coming under pressure from the Dynavolt riders, Xavi Vierge and Marcel Schrotter, but Marini held on for his second career pole.

After a weekend heavily disrupted by persistent rain, the Moto2 riders had the unusual luxury of a dry track for qualifying. This was bad news for Iker Lecuona, who had topped both Friday practice sessions in the wet, and the young Spaniard would wind up 21st on the grid after a crash on his Swiss Innovative Investors KTM.

Marini was certainly happy in the drier conditions, clocking a 1:37.333 on his very first lap of the afternoon before going onto improve by over a second before returning to the pits. At this stage, Schrotter trailed by a third of a second but the German would overhaul Marini nine minutes from the end, becoming the first rider to break into the 1:35s bracket.

To underline his superiority, Marini responded almost immediately to regain pole position but he still required a further improvement to fend off Vierge whose last gasp effort lifted him to within 0.027s of Luca in second. Newly crowned champion Francesco Bagnaia rose to fourth on his final lap of the day with Lorenzo Baldassarri fifth, just ahead of Britain’s Sam Lowes.

Joan Mir will start seventh for his final Moto2 race ahead of Augusto Fernandez and another MotoGP graduate in Fabio Quartararo while championship runner-up Miguel Oliveira lines up tenth, capping off a season of qualifying disappointments.


Moto2 Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana (Qualifying)

[table id=3613 /]

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
DakarMoto2World Rally-Raid Championship

Carlos Tatay pursuing cross-country rally, Dakar Rally

2 Mins read
After suffering a spinal cord injury in a European Moto2 crash that ended his bike racing career, Carlos Tatay will drive an SSV at the Baja Aragón with the goal of someday racing the Dakar Rally.

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.