Marquez Returns to Form with Sepang Moto2 Pole

by Louis Suddaby
Alex Marquez - Photo Credit:

Alex Marquez claimed his first pole position since Austin after continuing his domination of the Moto2 weekend at Sepang in qualifying. The Spaniard has been quickest in every single session of the Malaysian Grand Prix so far and was in a class of his own on Saturday afternoon, taking pole by half a second from Luca Marini.

Many of the fastest lap times were set at the start of the qualifying session with new tyre allocations being so tight and Marquez would clock a 2:05.629 on his second flying lap of the afternoon. The one rider to buck the trend was Marini who lifted himself from fourth to second in the final five minutes, relegating Fabio Quartararo to third on the Speed Up.

The late improvement from Marini also denied Remy Gardner a magnificent front row start on the Tech 3 Mistral 610. The Australian will still line up an impressive fourth ahead of Phillip Island polesitter Mattia Pasini with the two championship contenders next up. Francesco Bagnaia, who will clinch the title with a podium finish on Sunday, looked in trouble after his opening run left him down in eleventh but a crucial improvement at the halfway point hauled him up to sixth, crucially one place ahead of chief rival Miguel Oliveira.

Xavi Vierge will start eighth ahead of the second Red Bull KTM of the in-form Brad Binder while Marcel Schrotter completes the top ten.


Moto2 Shell Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Qualifying)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS2:05.629
210. Luca MariniKalexSky Racing Team VR462:06.117
320. Fabio QuartararoSpeed UpMB Conveyors - Speed Up2:06.295
487. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing2:06.347
554. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team2:06.439
642. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR462:06.549
744. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:06.617
897. Xavi ViergeKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:06.687
941. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo2:06.741
1023. Marcel SchrotterKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:06.742
1140. Augusto FernandezKalexPons HP402:06.878
129. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto22:06.901
137. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexPons HP402:06.964
1427. Iker LecuonaKTMSwiss Innovative Investors2:07.041
155. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team2:07.086
1645. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia2:07.220
1777. Dominique AegerterKTMKiefer Racing2:07.243
1836. Joan MirKalexEG 0.0 Marc VDS2:07.251
1957. Edgar PonsSpeed UpMB Conveyors - Speed Up2:07.251
202. Jesko RaffinKalexSAG Team2:07.365
2122. Sam LowesKTMSwiss Innovative Investors2:07.379
2224. Simone CorsiKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto22:07.494
2316. Joe RobertsNTSNTS RW Racing GP2:07.516
244. Steven OdendaalNTSNTS RW Racing GP2:07.566
2589. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia2:07.683
2666. Niki TuuliKalexSIC Racing Team2:08.425
2795. Jules DaniloKalexNashi Argan SAG Team2:08.500
2830. Dimas Ekky PratamaTech 3Tech 3 Racing2:08.769
2918. Xavi CardelusKalexMarinelli Snipers Team2:08.989
3032. Isaac VinalesSuterForward Racing Team2:09.524
3121. Federico FuligniKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto22:09.942
3250. Rafid Topan SuciptoSuterForward Racing Team2:10.553

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More