GP3 Series

Mazepin Grabs Last Grasp Pole in GP3 Qualifying

1 Mins read
Nikita Mazepin - 2018 GP3 Series - Abu Dhabi - Qualifying
Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

The final GP3 Series pole position belongs to Nikita Mazepin after a last gasp attempt at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Mazepin grabbed pole as the chequered flag dropped to deny championship leader Anthoine Hubert the opportunity to stretch his advantage.

Hubert lines up in third, with Leonardo Pulcini splitting the pair.

With the Russian’s four points for pole, the gap closes to 27 points with 44 on offer.

At the start Callum Ilott led his ART Grand Prix  team-mates – and the rest of the field – out of the pits.

Mazepin, Hubert and Jake Hughes started swapping the top spot as the times tumbled.

As the field headed to the pits for fresh rubber, Hubert was on top of the standings having set the fastest time in the first two sectors.

With eight minutes remaining, the track action resumed and the battle for pole started again.

Richard Verschoor, Hubert and then Pulcini briefly went quickest and with one minute remaining it was the Dutchman that led his rivals.

As the chequered flag dropped Verschoor did not have enough to extend his lead. Pulcini put one hand on pole, that was until Mazepin crossed the line just behind him.

Hubert and Ilott were unable to improve as Hughes came through to pip Ilott of fourth.

Trident drivers David Beckmann, practice pacesetter Giuliano Alesi and Ryan Tveter were sixth, seventh and eighth.

Simo Laaksonen and Juan Manuel Correa completed the top ten.

The final GP3 Feature Race gets underway at 12.30 local time.

2018 GP3 Series Result: Yas Marina Circuit – Qualifying

[table id=3634 /]

662 posts

About author
An NCTJ accredited Journalism Graduate covering DTM and the FIA Formula 3 Championship.
Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.