British Superbike

Josh Brookes storms to record breaking Pole Position at Cadwell Park

2 Mins read
Photo Credit: PBM Ducati

Josh Brookes has taken pole position at the Cadwell Park circuit, which is host of the eighth round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship after a record breaking lap in the Datatag Extreme Qualifying.

Qualifying kicked off under the blazing sunshine in the Lincolnshire countryside and it was PBM Be Wiser Ducati’s Josh Brookes who qualified on pole by just over two tenths of a second, setting a new lap record in the process around the 2.18-mile circuit.

Joining the 2015 British Superbike Champion on the front row is Bradley Ray who looks set to turn his season around as we approach the crucial showdown cut off. Oxford Racing’s Tommy Bridewell will line up in third. 

Championship leader Scott Redding will line up directly behind his teammate after qualifying in fourth in what is his first visit to the Mountain course. 

FS3 Kawasaki’s Danny Buchan will line up in the middle of the second row with McAMS Yamaha’s Jason O’Halloran completing row two. 

Dan Linfoot is joined by both TYCO BMW’s on the third row whilst the first man who failed to progress into Qualifying three, Thruxton winner, Andrew Irwin will head row four. 

The Honda Racing rider will be joined by Peter Hickman who’s final flying lap in Qualifying two was compromised by Gino Rea at the bottom of the mountain, leaving the Smiths BMW rider to settle for eleventh.

Second Buildbase Suzuki rider, Luke Stapleford, will line up in twelfth position.

Spaniard Xavi Fores will head row five along with Raceways Yamaha rider Matt Truelove who scored his best Qualifying result so far this year. On his return to Bennetts British Superbike action, Gino Rea completed the top fifteen. 

OMG Suzuki’s Josh Elliott will be joined by the injured Tarran Mackenzie and Ryan Vickers, who crashed twice in qualifying two at the Hairpin, leaving his RAF Regular and Reserve Kawasaki team a lot of work to do for tomorrow’s races.

Australian Ben Currie will line up in nineteenth position ahead of Luke Mossey’s substitute Billy McConnell and second JG Speedfit Kawasaki, Hector Barbera.

Dean Harrison finished qualifying one down in twenty-second position ahead of Joe Francis and Italian Claudio Corti, who suffered a heavy fall in the earlier Free Practice session.

David Allingham suffered a small crash at the bottom of the mountain, ending any chances of the EHA Racing rider progressing through to Qualifying two. The Irishman will be joined on row nine by Sam Coventry and Shaun Winfield.

The final row on the grid for race one is completed by CDH Racing Dean Hipwell and Gearlink Kawasaki’s Fraser Rogers

Race one kicks off at 13:30pm (GMT) at the glorious Cadwell Park, where pole sitter Josh Brookes will be aiming for his fifth victory around the mountain course, whilst his teammate Scott Redding will be looking to extend his advantage at the top of the standings. 

[table id=4049 /]

Related posts
British Superbike

Exclusive interview with Ben Luxton

3 Mins read
Getting to know one of the UK’s rising talents. Here’s an exclusive interview with British Superstock 600 rider Ben Luxton
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.
British Superbike

British Superbikes announce a tweaked Qualifying format for 2020

1 Mins read
British Superbikes have a new Qualifying format for the 2020 season.

Leave a Reply