F4 British Championship

Matthew Rees dominates Snetterton again to take second win of the weekend and claim second place in the standings

2 Mins read
Credit: Jakob Ebery Photography

JHR Developments continued their sensational 2021 form with rookie Matthew Rees taking his second win of the weekend at Snetterton ahead of Phinsys by Argenti’s Marcos Flack and rookie cup challenger Mckenzy Cresswell.

As the lights went out it was Rees that had another exceptional start as Oliver Gray stalled on the grid. Dougie Bolger had a wild spin on the exit of turn one and flew into the tall grass and out of the race. But it was a JHR 1-2 with Rees and rookie team mate Mckenzy Cresswell leading ahead of impressive Australian Marcos Flack, who’s been the class of the Phinsys by Argenti team this weekend.

Championship leader James Hedley was in fourth and being pursued by Abbi Pulling who was looking to turn around her disappointing weekend and championship to get some serious points on the board.

Further down the field we had Matias Zagazeta chasing Pulling in sixth place, and Roman Bilinski continuing the fly the Carlin flag in seventh place. Joel Granfors dipped a tyre on the grass on the outside of turn one but remained in eighth place as the Swede come under pressure from Arden Motorsport’s Zak Taylor.

Matthew Rees was now setting fastest laps as his lead built up, but a major incident occurred between Granfors and Bilinski as the Formula Nordic champion made a move on Bilinski and looked to clear the Carlin driver but the two connected wheels and into retirement, bringing out the safety car.

The biggest mover at the halfway mark was race two winner Georgi Dimitrov, who gained seven places and was running in the final points paying position in tenth place, an impressive opening weekend for the solo Richardson Racing entry after missing the season opener at Thruxton.

As the safety car came back in, it was leader Rees that bolted as positions were shuffling further down the pack, as Zak Taylor and Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak locked horns for seventh place.

The battle for second between Cresswell and Flack was now reaching fever pitch as the two were side by side into Palmer corner, enabling James Hedley to make it three-wide but deciding against it as Flack claimed second place and split the JHR stronghold up front.

Abbi Pulling was now running in a strong fifth place and keeping tabs on Hedley with Matias Zagazeta in tow and looking very promising for Phinsys by Argenti – the Peruvian second year driver continuing to show strong intent in 2021.

But as the time wound down and the final lap started, it was rookie Matthew Rees that took his second win of the weekend and in dominant fashion, leading home Marcos Flack by almost four seconds and Mckenzy Cresswell in third.

Championship leader James Hedley came home in fourth place with Abbi Pulling and Matias Zagazeta in close company across the line in fifth and sixth. Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak was in seventh with Zak Taylor in eighth, Joseph Loake in ninth and Georgi Dimitrov rounding out the top ten.

Round Six Classification

1Matthew Rees (R)JHR Developments10 Laps
2Marcos Flack (R)Phinsys by Argenti+ 3.721
3Mckenzy Cresswell (R)JHR Developments+ 4.247
4James HedleyFortec Motorsport+ 5.071
5Abbi PullingJHR Developments+ 5.618
6Matias ZagazetaPhinsys by Argenti+ 5.769
7Tasanapol InthraphuvasakCarlin+ 6.050
8Zak TaylorArden Motorsport+ 8.972
9Joseph LoakeJHR Developments+ 9.537
10Georgi DimitrovRichardson Racing+ 9.828
11Oliver Gray (R)Fortec Motorsport+ 11.506
12Roman BilinskiCarlin+ 12.144
13Kai Askey (R)Carlin+ 12.816
14Eduardo Coseteng (R)Phinsys by Argenti+ 13.040
15Thomas Ikin (R)Arden Motorsport+ 13.705
16David MoralesArden Motorsport+ 15.116
17Joel GranforsFortec Motorsport+ 6 Laps
18Dougie Bolger (R)CarlinDNF

Championship Standings (Top 10)

1James HedleyFortec Motorsport85
2Matthew Rees (R)JHR Developments60
3Mckenzy Cresswell (R)JHR Developments53
4Joel GranforsFortec Motorsport45
5Zak TaylorArden Motorsport34
6Joseph LoakeJHR Developments33
7Marcos Flack (R)Phinsys by Argenti32
8Oliver Gray (R)Fortec Motorsport32
9Matias Zagazeta Phinsys by Argenti26
10Abbi PullingJHR Developments24
118 posts

About author
British Formula 4 correspondent and occasional F1 reporter for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Alex Dunne wins season opener race at Donington Park in British F4 championship

2 Mins read
Alex Dunne claims victory at British F4 season opener at Donington with Oliver Grey in second and Ugo Ugochukwu in third.
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Alex Dunne signs with Hitech GP for 2022 British F4 Campaign

1 Mins read
Alex Dunne joins Hitech GP as the final driver for the 2022 British F4 season.
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Joel Pearson returns to racing with Chris Dittmann Racing in the British F4 championship

1 Mins read
After the 16 year olds battle with bone cancer, Joel Pearson returns to racing with Chris Dittmann Racing for the ROKiT British F4 championship