Finnish Drivers Dominating the WRC3 Entries for Rally Finland

1 Mins read
Credit: Riku Tahko

For the Rally Finland round of the 2021 FIA World Rally Championship this weekend, there are a total of seven local drivers that are looking to take home the win in the WRC3 class as the current title protagonists Yohan Rossel and Kajetan Kajetanowicz both missing from the entry list.

Mikko Heikkilä has entered with a Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo is one of the leading names that are joining the field for the gravel grand prix; at Arctic Rally Finland earlier this year he took a podium finish and followed up with one more at Rally Estonia but now he is looking strong to take a step-up on the podium.

Emil Lindholm, son of the former WRC driver Sebastian Lindholm who is currently fifth in the WRC3 standings, managed to secure his first-ever Finnish Rally Championship title last weekend at the SM KokUA 60-v Juhlaralli and he will also be one of the drivers to watch out for, he is entered in one the TGS Worldwide´s Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo.

The 2018 class winner Eerik Pietarinen will debut his new Volkswagen Polo GTI R5 at the rally after switching away from the Skoda he previously used.

Credit: WRC

Riku Tahko, the former FIA European Rallycross Championship regular, made his step back in to rally from rallycross about two years ago and he is the sole Finn driving a Hyundai i20 R5.

Other Finnish drivers entered in the class is the 2021 FIA World Junior Rally Championship title challenger Lauri Joona in a Printsport backed Skoda Fabia R5, Juuso Metsälä and Jari Huuhka are also entered in a Skoda Fabia R5 each.

Outside of the locals on the entry, list are the two Spanish drivers of Pepe Lopez and Miguel Diaz-Aboitiz in Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo each, two Estonians of Egon Kaur in a Volkswagen Polo GTI R5 and Raul Jeets in a Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo.

Rounding up the list is the Czech driver Martin Vlcek in a Hyundai i20 R5 and Brazilian´s Paulo Nobre in a Skoda Fabia R5.

Entered outside of the WRC2 and WRC3 classes are the former WRC legend Jani Paasonen in a Ford Fiesta R5, Netherland´s Kees Burger in a Skoda Fabia R5, Mika Karppanen in a Citroen DS3, Hungarian´s Zoltan Szabo in a Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo and Italian´s Simone Bertolotti in a Skoda Fabia R5.

Follow @tcfoffroad on: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

788 posts

About author
Covering rally, rallycross & other motorsport news for The Checkered Flag with over 8 years of experience working with all sorts of media & PR related things in motorsport. To bring all the latest news from different series to our wonderful readers on The Checkered Flag is always a pleasure for me.
Related posts

Maxine Wahome becomes first female WRC3 winner

1 Mins read
With a WRC3 victory in her home country of Kenya’s Safari Rally, Maxine Wahome is the category’s first woman winner and the first to win a WRC support since Isolde Holderied (Group N) in 1994.
FIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCWRC2WRC3

Rovanperä, Rossel, Laszlo and Joona Claim Class Wins in Croatia

4 Mins read
Kalle Rovanperä claimed a remarkable win in Rally Croatia on the power stage despite having selected the wrong tires on doing it meanwhile Yohan Rossel had a dominant win in WRC2, Zoltan Laszlo a well deserved win in WRC3 and Lauri Joona was handed the win in JWRC as Robert Virves picked up a four minute penalty on an early check-in
FIA World Rally ChampionshipJunior WRCOff RoadWRC2WRC3

Rovanpera leads Rally Croatia after Day One

2 Mins read
Kalle Rovanpera tops the days leaderboard after finishing fastest above Thierry Neuville and Ott Tanak.