NASCAR Xfinity Series

Daniel Hemric wins maiden NASCAR race, 2021 Xfinity Series championship

4 Mins read
Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images

It eluded him for years, but he has finally done it and in the best way possible: Daniel Hemric is a NASCAR race winner, and he won an Xfinity Series championship with it.

In a dramatic overtime finish, Hemric chased down reigning champion Austin Cindric before beating him to the line by just .030 of a second.

Cindric won the pole ahead of John Hunter Nemechek, who was still reeling from losing the Truck Series championship race on Friday despite his dominant campaign there. Hemric started fourth, Noah Gragson seventh, and A.J. Allmendinger twelfth. Spencer Boyd, Landon Cassill, Ryan Ellis, Joey Gase, Timmy Hill, and Stephen Leicht failed to qualify.

Nemechek led much of the opening stage before Cindric took the lead on lap 21 and drove off to the stage win. Hemric finished second ahead of Nemechek, Justin Allgaier, Gragson, Brandon Jones, Allmendinger, Michael Annett, Riley Herbst, and Justin Haley.

Hemric won the race off pit road to lead the field to begin Stage #2. Jeffrey Earnhardt spun and wrecked on lap 60 for the first race-related caution of the night. Nemechek became the new leader shortly after the restart before Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Hemric reclaimed the spot on lap 87 and led to the win. Cindric got by Nemechek for second. Allgaier, Gragson, Haley, Burton, Annett, and Herbst rounded out the top ten.

The final segment of the year began with Hemric continuing to lead, but racing only lasted a single lap before Joe Graf Jr. crashed into the wall after contact with Sage Karam. Karam would also collide with Matt Mills and send him into the wall for another yellow on lap 106.

On lap 115, Cindric made his move for the lead. Nine laps later, Stefan Parsons was the race’s next victim when his car caught fire. A restart on lap 134 quickly ended when Jade Buford spun, though Gragson took advantage of the brief period under green to fly up from thirteenth to seventh. On the other hand, Allgaier was penalised for dropping below the yellow and and onto the apron before crossing the start/finish line.

Cindric continued to lead before Allmendinger, who was running last among the final four, spun on his own on lap 182. He had been reporting a vibration, the result of a loose right-rear wheel, prior to the spin and eventual caution.

The next green flag came with thirteen laps remaining as Cindric and Hemric comprised the front row. Gragson made slight contact with Hemric while running behind him and Cindric, while Allmendinger’s team-mate Jeb Burton went around after being tapped by Sheldon Creed in turn four for another yellow.

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Eight-to-go marked the penultimate restart. Cindric cleared Hemric after a lap before Gragson slammed into the turn one wall, but the race stayed green. Conversely, Buford and Josh Williams‘ accident produced a caution and overtime.

As with previous green flags, a Cindric/Hemric outside/inside front row initiated overtime. The two ran side-by-side as they entered turn one and remained as such on the backstretch. Cindric cleared Hemric to take the white flag, but Hemric remained on the inside. Hemric committed behind Cindric on the backstretch before making his final charge coming to the finish.

Hemric last won a race in 2014 in grassroots series competition; across the next six years of racing in NASCAR’s regional and three national series, he failed to win again until Saturday. He joins 1950 now-Cup Series winner Bill Rexford as the only NASCAR national series champions with one career victory.

“I’m blacked out, blacked out,” said Hemric. “Just knew I had to be the first one to the line. I thought I let [Cindric] get too much of a run off of four. Drove into one, knew I was close not to completely use them up, but we work our asses off for an opportunity like this. Excuse my language.

“This is what it’s all about, winning at the second highest level in all of motorsports. What an honour. Unbelievable. I’d do it all over again. I’ll take all the heartbreaks again to live this right here.”

He will have a chance to defend his championship with a new team as he moves to Kaulig to become Allmendinger’s team-mate in 2022. If he repeats, he will be the first driver to win back-to-back Xfinity titles for different teams since Tyler Reddick in 2018 (JR Motorsports) and 2019 (Richard Childress Racing).

Gragson finished twelfth to rank third in the standings; he finished one spot behind JRM ally Michael Annett, who retired from full-time competition after the race. Allmendinger, the regular season champion, placed fourteenth.

Race results

1418Daniel HemricJoe Gibbs RacingToyota204Running
2122Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord204Running
33620Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota204Running
4598Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord204Running
5811Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet204Running
6254John Hunter Nemechek*Joe Gibbs RacingToyota204Running
7619Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota204Running
82002Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
937Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
101078Sheldon Creed*B.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
11131Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
1279Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
13118Sam Mayer †JR MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
141216A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet204Running
153226Dylan LuptonSam Hunt RacingToyota204Running
162123Blaine PerkinsOur MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
171438Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord204Running
182251Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet204Running
19172Myatt SniderRichard Childress RacingChevrolet204Running
201968Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
212766David StarrMBM MotorsportsToyota204Running
222907J.J. YeleySS-Green Light RacingChevrolet204Running
23910Jeb BurtonKaulig RacingChevrolet204Running
242344Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
253331Sage KaramJordan Anderson RacingChevrolet204Running
262447Kyle WeathermanMike Harmon RacingChevrolet204Running
271839Kyle SiegRSS RacingFord204Running
28306Ryan Vargas †JD MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
29355Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet204Running
302636Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet202Running
312515Bayley Currey*JD MotorsportsChevrolet200Running
321692Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevrolet194Accident
331548Jade Buford †Big Machine RacingChevrolet193Accident
342899Stefan ParsonsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet123Engine
353417Joe Graf Jr.SS-Green Light RacingChevrolet97Accident
36310Jeffrey EarnhardtJD MotorsportsChevrolet57Accident
Bold – Champion
Underline – Championship Round driver
† – Competed for Rookie of the Year (won by Ty Gibbs)
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
Avatar photo
3653 posts

About author
Justin is not an off-road racer, but he writes about it for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity SeriesOff Road

Sheldon Creed, Riley Herbst running off-road throwbacks at Darlington

3 Mins read
Sheldon Creed and Riley Herbst, off-road racers before pursuing stock car careers, will respectively honour Ivan Stewart and Terrible Herbst Motorsports for the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Darlington.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Young's Motorsports adds Xfinity programme with Honeyman

1 Mins read
NASCAR Truck team Young’s Motorsports will expand to the Xfinity Series in 2024 with Leland Honeyman Jr. as the driver of the #42.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Blaine Perkins joining RSS Racing for 2024 Xfinity

1 Mins read
Blaine Perkins will race full-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2024 for RSS Racing.