NASCAR Cup Series

Roush Fenway becomes RFK Racing

1 Mins read
Credit: RFK Racing

A new era has begun for Jack Roush‘s NASCAR operation. On Tuesday, Roush Fenway Racing announced the rebranding to RFK Racing, highlighting the arrival of new driver and minority owner Brad Keselowski. Keselowski will drive the #6 Ford Mustang, which also receives a new livery and number font, beginning with the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season.

RFK Racing can be regarded as the third “chapter” in Roush’s NASCAR endeavours. He founded the team as Roush Racing in 1988 before becoming Roush Fenway in 2007 with the addition of the Fenway Sports Group (via John W. Henry) as an owner. The team won the 2003 and 2004 Cup championships with Matt Kenseth and Kurt Busch, respectively, along with five Xfinity Series titles and the 2000 Truck Series crown.

Keselowski, the 2012 Cup champion, announced in July that he would join Roush for 2022, a position that also includes working in the team’s competition department. He had spent much of his career with fellow Ford organisation Team Penske, and finished his final season with the team with a sixth-place points finish. RFK will not be his first foray into team ownership as he previously owned the Truck outfit Brad Keselowski Racing.

“The heritage and innovation of Jack Roush, the championship swagger of Fenway Sports Group and the passion for racing of Brad Keselowski are what merges together to create RFK Racing,” said team president Steve Newmark. “These principles form and drive the fundamentals of our team and the new brand, as we lay out the roadmap that will lead us into the future.”

Chris Buescher will serve as Keselowski’s partner in the #17. He won the 2015 Xfinity title with Roush.

1838 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts
NASCAR Cup Series

Kurt Busch remains sidelined with concussion, to miss Richmond

1 Mins read
One doesn’t need to be a neuroscientist to understand the health effects of concussions, and difficulties with simulator testing proved this for Kurt Busch. He will miss Richmond, his 4th straight no-show.
NASCAR Cup Series

Noah Gragson joins Petty GMS for 2023

2 Mins read
Noah Gragson will replace Ty Dillon in the #42 of Petty GMS Motorsports for the 2023 NASCAR Cup Series.
NASCAR Cup Series

Mike Rockenfeller to make NASCAR debut at Watkins Glen Cup

3 Mins read
Mike Rockenfeller, who has won everything endurance-related from Le Mans and Nürburgring to Daytona and Spa, will now head to the NASCAR Cup Series as he drives for Spire Motorsports at Watkins Glen.