Ingram doubles up at Brands Hatch to set up thrilling BTCC title decider

3 Mins read
Tom Ingram - EXCELR8 with - Photo - Jakob Ebrey Photography

Tom Ingram has made it two from two today at Brands Hatch as he held off title rival, Jake Hill to seal back-to-back rounds at the final round of British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) action as he puts himself into pole position.

Back-to-back lights-to-flag triumphs sealed it for the 29-year-old who had to contend in Race Two with pressure from Jake Hill who is seemingly his biggest rival going into the final round sitting 11 points behind.

This after the ROKiT MB Motorsport driver squeezed by reigning champion, Ash Sutton and Toyota Gazoo Racing UK ace Rory Butcher who at the start of the day was seen as the cork in the bottle behind the main protagonists.

Sutton has seemingly struggled for pace on the final day and he slipped behind Colin Turkington in the latter stages of Race Two who completed the podium after getting by Butcher but is now out of contention leaving Ingram, Hill and Sutton to do battle in one final push for the title in Race Three.

In the Reverse Grid finale, Dan Lloyd will start on pole ahead of Bobby Thompson and Dan Cammish with Ash Sutton sixth and Hill and Ingram together in ninth and 10th with Sutton seemingly having to win the race and hope that the leading duo don’t make it up the order.

2022 British Touring Car Championship – Race 2 – Brands Hatch GP

1.       Tom INGRAM (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 15 laps
2.       Jake HILL (GBR) ROKiT MB Motorsport +0.673s
3.       Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.981s
4.       Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +4.693s
5.       Ash SUTTON (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +6.758s
6.       Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +6.908s
7.       Josh COOK (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +9.854s
8.       Dan CAMMISH (GBR) NAPA Racing UK +10.177s
9.       Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +11.301s
10.     Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +11.786s
11.     George GAMBLE (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +12.415s
12.     Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +12.812s
13.     Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +13.553s
14.     Tom CHILTON (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +13.877s
15.     Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +14.204s
16.     Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Toyota GAZOO Racing UK +14.988s
17.     Ash HAND (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +17.666s
18.     Jason PLATO (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +18.046s
19.     Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +19.543s
20.     Dexter PATTERSON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +19.772s
21.     Michael CREES (GBR) CarStore Power Maxed Racing +26.729s
22.     Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +27.126s
23.     Ollie JACKSON (GBR) Apec Racing with Beavis Morgan +27.786s
24.     Jack BUTEL (GBR) Bristol Street Motors with EXCELR8 +28.916s
25.     Jade EDWARDS (GBR) Rich Energy BTC Racing +33.184s
26.     Rick PARFITT (GBR) Uptonsteel with Euro Car Parts Racing +34.302s
27.     Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Yazoo with Racing +4 laps
28.     Nic HAMILTON (GBR) Yazoo with Racing +14 laps
29.     Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Autobrite Direct with JourneyHero +15 laps

Avatar photo
283 posts

About author
Head British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) writer for The Checkered Flag - passionate about Motorsport from a young age, also writes predominately about Darts, Tennis and Basketball for other publications full time.
Related posts

Ash Sutton regains BTCC Drivers' Championship with rampant race one win at Brands Hatch

2 Mins read
Imperious Ash Sutton took the BTCC Drivers’ title for a fourth time in the first race at Brands Hatch GP finishing off an incredible season.

Turkington tops Silverstone reverse grid race with 150th race win for BMW

2 Mins read
Four-time BTCC champion, Colin Turkington may be all but out of the BTCC Drivers’ Championship hunt, but concluded Silverstone with a milestone…

Sutton seals mind blowing Silverstone win from 23rd on the grid

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton is at it again in a drive that may have just sealed another BTCC Drivers’ Championship for the imperious NAPA…