Historic Mille Miglia road race to return in 2010

2010 will see the historic return of the Mille Miglia road race as Ferrari pay tribute to the legendary race.

The last time the famous race was held was back in 1957, with this being the cut-off year for entries for 2010, but there will also see 120 Ferrari’s built between 1958 and present precede the 360 classic cars.

With the unsurprising amount of entries it’s going to be a task in itself to choose the participants, this is why a special committee has been formed which will include Piero Ferrari.

The post-1957 cars will be separated in their own standings with recent V8 and V12 cars, for supercars, such as the Enzo, F50, F40 and GTO, and for older models which will be divided into road, competition and sports cars.

The classifications will be decided by regularity trials over specific sections, to include the Fiorano circuit during the Maranello stage, and others to be confirmed.

With the Monaco GP date being moved, the Mille Miglia has been brought forward to the first weekend in May, with the event starting on 5 May with scrutineering.

The classic route will take drivers all the way to Rome after which they make their way back to Brescia, via Siena, Florence and Maranello by the evening of Saturday, May 8th. The entry fee includes hotel and catering, and at 6,040 euro (including taxes) is the same as the fee for the actual race.

For anyone lucky enough to own a Ferrari they can get their pre-entry form by logging on to: http://millemigliatribute.ferrari.com or emailing millemigliatribute@ferrari.com