Road Racing

2010 Manx Grand Prix Gets Underway

2 Mins read

The 2010 Manx Grand Prix got underway last night in variable conditions as the first timed practice kicked off just before 6.30pm.

With field led away by three newcomers РFinlands Osmo Partti, who had an accident at Sulby Bridge on Saturday and failed to complete his obligatory newcomers lap, joined by Robert Simcock and Mick Godfrey as they were taken around the course by Rider Liason officer Carolynn Sells.

Wayne Kirwan, Brian Purdy and Manx GP veteran Phil McGurk would take to the track as the newcomers reached Sulby, but it was Manxman Paul Smyth from Douglas who set the early pace on his Yamaha R6 600 with a time of 100.629mph. Grant Wagstaffe and Andy McPherson would join Smyth in being the only riders to complete a lap about 100mph on the first lap. Smyth would take the Senior class fastest time with Glyn Jones on his 750 Suzuki putting in a lap of 97.807mph.

On the second time around Smyth continued his relentless pace increasing his average time to 104.021mph followed by Peter Symes on a Suzuki GSXR 750, Jonny Heginbotham on a CBR 600, Grant Wagstaffe and Ivan Lintin all posting laps above 100mph.

Newcomer Andy Fenton would also reach the 100mph mark as he set a time of 103.009 on a 600cc Yamaha for the A Group newcomers with Scott Campbell taking the honours in the Newcomer B Class with a speed of 94.085mph.

2010 TT sidecar winner Dan Sayle topped the times for the lightweight class with a lap of 96.022 followed by Nigel Moore and Roy Richardson in third. Dave Moffitt finished top of the Ultra Lightweights with a lap of 99.526mph.

Olie Linsdell pushed hard to record a lap of 100.327mph on the Paton for the Classic practice followed by Mark Herbertson on a Matchless and Paul Coward on a 71 Nourish Weslake.

Michael Dunlop and Mark Buckley finished first and second in the Post Classic practice with Dave Madsen-Mygdal the Senior Classic class fastest.

In the Junior Classic class Alan Oversby took the top spot with a lap of 91.971 followed by Chris Palmer and Nigel Moore. Alan Bud Jackson led the way in the Lightweights with a lap of 84.865mph.

Fastest through the Sulby Speed trap last night was Ivan Linton with 159mph along with newcomer Robert Simcock just behind with 155.3mph and Olie Linsdell at 143.1mph.

Steve Hodgson had an incident at Gooseneck but was reported as okay. Tim Venables slide off also at the Gooseneck and was helped back by the travelling marshal.

Michael Moulai and Roger Jones were both taken to Nobles hospital by air but have been reported to be doing well while Adam Easton was given the all clear after being treated after an accident at Bedstead.

Related posts
Road Racing

Isle of Man TT 2020 cancelled amid Coronavirus fears

1 Mins read
The 2020 Isle of Man TT is cancelled due to coronavirus fears
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.
Road Racing

Hickman claims Macau Grand Prix pole

1 Mins read
Peter Hickman has taken pole position for the 53rd Edition of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Leave a Reply