General Formula 3

Brendon Hartley Features In Macau GP Entry List

2 Mins read

The organisers of the prestigious Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix have released a provisional entry list for the 57th running of the Grand Prix, with Brendon Hartley the stand out name of this year's line-up.

The New Zealander is set to drive for the Hitech Racing team, making his return to Formula 3, having finished third in the British championship in 2008, driving for Carlin. Hartley began 2010 racing in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series, but switched to GP2 towards the end of the season after Red Bull withdrew their support of him. Despite his name appearing on the provisional entry list, Hartley has responded on Twitter to the news by saying it was “news to me”.

2009 winner and F3 Euro Series champion Edoardo Mortara heads the entry list driving for Signature, who have added German series frontrunner Daniel Abt to their line-up for the event. Carlin's four car team is led by British champion Jean-Eric Vergne, who will arrive at the event having tested for Scuderia Toro Rosso at Abu Dhabi in the F1 young driver tests. Antonio Felix da Costa will also drive for the team, having raced for them in rounds of the GP3 Series alongside his F3 Euro Series commitments with Motopark Academy. The team will be completed by regulars James Calado and Jazeman Jaafar.

Japanese series frontrunners Yuji Kunimoto and Rafael Suzuki will race for the Tom's team. With ART Grand Prix not making the trip to Macau, Alexander Sims will race for Raikkonen Robertson Racing, alongside local driver and European F3 Open competitor Michael Ho as well as GP3 driver Rio Haryanto, who has Macau experience from the Formula BMW Pacific series. Felipe Nasr will drive a fourth Double R car entered in association with Manor Motorsport.

Italian squad Prema will have an all-Spanish line-up, with regular Daniel Juncadella being joined by Roberto Merhi. Fortec Motorsport will take three cars, to be driven by team regular Oli Webb, as well as new recruit Will Buller and Lucas Foresti. Renger van der Zande will make his F3 return with Motopark Academy.

Provisional Macau Grand Prix Entry List

No. Driver Nat. Team Car/Engine
1 Edoardo Mortara ITA Signature Dallara Volkswagen
2 Marco Wittman GER Signature Dallara Volkswagen
3 Laurens Vanthoor BEL Signature Dallara Volkswagen
4 Daniel Abt GER Signature Dallara Volkswagen
5 Jean-Eric Vergne FRA Carlin Dallara Volkswagen
6 James Calado GBR Carlin Dallara Volkswagen
7 Jazeman Jaafar MAL Carlin Dallara Volkswagen
8 Antonio Felix Da Costa POR Carlin Dallara Volkswagen
9 Yuji Kunimoto JPN Tom's Dallara Toyota
10 Rafael Suzuki BRA Tom's Dallara Toyota
11 Alexander Sims GBR Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara Mercedes
12 Michael Ho MAC Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara Mercedes
14 Rio Haryanto INA Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara Mercedes
15 Daniel Juncadella ESP Prema Powerteam Dallara Mercedes
16 Roberto Merhi ESP Prema Powerteam Dallara Mercedes
17 Oliver Webb GBR Fortec Motorsport Dallara Mercedes
18 Will Buller GBR Fortec Motorsport Dallara Mercedes
19 Lucas Foresti BRA Fortec Motorsport Dallara Mercedes
20 Alexandre Imperatori SWI Toda Racing Dallara Honda
21 Yuhi Sekiguchi JPN Three Bond Racing Dallara Nissan
22 Hideki Yamauchi JPN Hanashima Racing Dallara Toyota
23 Brendon Hartley NZL Hitech Racing Dallara Volkswagen
24 Carlos Munoz COL Hitech Racing Dallara Volkswagen
26 Renger van der Zande NED Motopark Academy Dallara Volkswagen
27 Kimiya Sato JPN Motopark Academy Dallara Volkswagen
28 Aaron Filguera ESP Motopark Academy Dallara Volkswagen
29 Adderly Fong HKG Sino Vision Racing Dallara Mercedes
30 Hywell Lloyd GBR CF Racing Dallara Mercedes
31 Felipe Nasr BRA Räikkönen Robertson Racing with Manor Motorsport Dallara Mercedes
32 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Performance Racing Dallara Volkswagen
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
General Formula 3

Schumacher joins Charouz as Kari heads up trio of drivers

2 Mins read
Charouz have assembled their trio of drivers for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season
General Formula 3Season Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship - Supreme Shwartzman

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back on the inaugural 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship which saw Robert Shwartzman crowned champion.
Formula 3General Formula 3

Fernández makes ART F3 switch

1 Mins read
Spaniard Sebastián Fernández will complete ART Grand Prix’s driver line up for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season after completing a move from Campos Racing.