Wrathall Secures Title In Penultimate Race, Despite Breeze Victory

Frank Wrathall has secured the 2010 Ginetta G50 Cup title after the second of the two races at the Brands Hatch Indy circuit. Championship contender Carl Breeze won a second consecutive race, but Wrathall's third place has put the Dynojet driver out of reach at the top of the standings.

Breeze led the race from pole position until the end, although Benji Hetherington remained close to him for the whole of the race. Chris Dittmann had been running third, ahead of Wrathall, for most of the race. However, on lap 22 of 24, Dittmann ran wide and Wrathall seized his opportunity to get past.

Behind the top four, Freddie Hetherington finished where he started, in fifth. Mark Davies also maintained his position, finishing sixth. Guest driver Dave Newsham produced a fantastic drive to finish seventh having started at the back of grid. Dan Denis repeated his Round 26 result of eighth, with Swiss driver Joachim Ritter finishing ninth and Julien Draper tenth. Tom Sharp, who had started 14th after retiring from the lead in Round 26, climbed his way into the top seven early on, before a couple of mistakes dropped him to 12th.

Wrathall said about his championship glory: “It’s an amazing feeling to have finally won the championship. We’ve had a fantastic season, the Dynojet team has done an incredible job with the car and we really have had some fantastic results. All credit to Carl, he’s a great driver and racing against someone of his ability – with past BTCC experience – has helped me improve and learn more. It’s been a great year.”