FIA GTGT SeriesSportscars

Sumo Power Drivers Collect Tourist Trophy

1 Mins read

Sumo Power GT drivers Warren Hughes and Jamie Campbell-Walter were able to collect the RAC Tourist Trophy they won back in May at the Silverstone round of the FIA GT1 World Championship.

The pair finished third on track at the end of the hour long race, but penalties for the two Aston Martins that finished ahead – a technical infringement for one and a time penalty for the other due to not serving a drive through penalty within three laps – elevated the GT-R drivers to victory.

“I have to thank the team for giving Warren and I the opportunity to win the Tourist Trophy – as well as thank the Royal Automobile Club for putting up this award,” said Campbell-Walter. “We've had a fantastic year and have now been presented with the most famous trophy in motorsport. You couldn't ask for a better way to round off the season.”

It was left to Royal Automobile Club Chairman Sir David Prosser to present the famous trophy at the event in London's Park Lane. The Tourist Trophy was first presented in 1905, making it the longest standing perpetually awarded trophy in motorsport. Among those also present at the event was Sir Stirling Moss, himself a seven time winner of the Trophy.

“To win the Tourist Trophy has always been a real challenge,” Moss commented. “It certainly was in my day and this is what has made it a very important and prestigious award to receive. I therefore congratulate Jamie and Warren and their team on this fantastic achievement.”

Sumo Power GT were the only British based team in the inaugural FIA GT1 World Championship, and would finish sixth in the teams' championship. Their Tourist Trophy win – coming in just their second event with the Nissan GT-R – made Nissan just the second Japanese manufacturer to win the title.

“When we first heard that the race for the Tourist Trophy was going to be included in the calendar this year, I didn't think that we would actually win it, bearing in mind it was going to be our second ever event,” said James Rumsey, team principal. “Therefore, to be here accepting this prestigious award on behalf of the team and NISMO is a very proud moment and a measure of the effort everyone involved has put into our first ever season.”

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts
Endurance RacingFIA WECSportscars

Milesi and Hörr set for FIA WEC Bahrain test in November

2 Mins read
Charles Milesi and Laurents Hörr have been selected by the FIA WEC promoters and organisers to take part in the official Bahrain test as rookies sampling the championship winning cars in Hypercar and LMGTE Pro respectively.
ADAC GT MastersFormula 1GT World ChallengeIntercontinental GT ChallengeSportscars

Mercedes AMG to work more closely with Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team

3 Mins read
Mercedes AMG have announced a re-structuring, which involves the sportscar department and the Formula 1 department working more closely together, as well as integrating the E-sports team into factory life.
Nurburgring 24 HoursNürburgring Endurance SeriesSportscars

Sabine Schmitz: 1969 - 2021

1 Mins read
The racing world is mourning the loss of a legend today after the news that Sabine Schmitz has lost her long battle with cancer.