FIA Institute Names Finalists For Young Driver Academy

by David Bean

The FIA has shortlisted 19 drivers for the FIA Institute Young Driver Excellence Academy, 10 of which will be selected to take part in the 2011 programme.

Ex-F1 driver Alex Wurz and 2001 World Rally Champion co-driver Robert Reid are running the driver programme, and will run a three-day selection process in early February to decide on the final participants.

The candidates for the scheme, which aims to give high levels of support to the emerging talents in motorsport, will have to demonstrate their abilities in a range of both driving and non-driving assessment at the event in Melk, Austria.

The  young drivers, selected from all over the world, will be required to lead exercises designed to evaluate fitness and performance, media techniques, teamwork and psychology.

The list of finalists for this inaugural academy is given below. More information on the drivers’ and the scheme itself can be found on the FIA Institute Website. The drivers come from both racing and rallying backgrounds, with some already able to boast championships.

Kevin Abbring, 21, Netherlands
Hamad Ahmed Al Fardan, 23, Bahrain
Paul-Loup Chatin, 19, France
Albert Costa, 20, Spain
Alon Day, 19, Israel
Philipp Eng, 20, Austria
Robin Frijns, 19, Netherlands
Adam Gould, 23, UK
Timmy Hansen, 18, Sweden
Egon Kaur, 23, Estonia
Andreas Mikkelsen, 21, Norway
Josef Newgarden, 20, USA
Norman Nato, 18, France
Alexander Rossi, 19, USA
Jan Skala, 19, Czech Republic
Richie Stanaway, 19, New Zealand
Molly Taylor, 22, Australia
Stoffel Vandoorne, 18, Belgium
Joni Wiman, 17, Finland

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More