General Formula 3

Felipe Nasr fastest in Rockingham morning test session

1 Mins read

Carlin Motorsport’s Felipe Nasr recorded the  fastest time in the first official test of the 2011 British International Formula 3 Championship this morning, heading a Carlin 1-2-3 in the process.

A damp track greeted the 18 Dallaras present at the test, and cloudy skies and low temperatures meant the track was slow to dry, but eventually the lap times began to tumble as the session progressed. Particularly in the first morning session, times went from high 1:23s to a 1:14.6 by Fortec’s William Buller in the space of 20 minutes.

Times quickened even more in the second of the morning sessions, as Nasr’s quickest time of 1:10.953 was over a second faster than last year’s pole position time. Only a tenth behind was Colombian and Carlin team-mate Carlos Huertas, followed by British driver Rupert Svendsen-Cook, another Carlin racer.

Several younger competitors were also impressive throughout the morning, the youngest driver in the whole field, Lucas Foresti was 4th quickest for Fortec Motorsport. His fellow Brazilian Pipo Derani, who arrived in the UK only a day before the test posted the 11th quickest time for Double R Racing, displaying good potential for his debut season in Formula 3.

The new, young, British pair of Harry Tincknell and Jack Harvey also showed good pace for Fortec and Carlin respectively, Harvey posted seventh best time and Tincknell the ninth.

The PM session will begin early afternoon, again divided into two 45-minute sessions.

Top ten times:
1 Felipe NASR / BRA, Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen 1m 10.953s / 99.04mph
2 Carlos HUERTAS / COL, Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen 1m 11.128s
3 Rupert SVENDSEN-COOK / GBR, Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen 1m 11.147s
4 Lucas FORESTI / BRA, Fortec Dallara-Mercedes 1m 11.584s
5 Kevin MAGNUSSEN / DEN, Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen 1m 11.628s
6 Pietro FANTIN / BRA, Hitech Dallara-Volkswagen 1m 11.772s
7 Jack HARVEY / GBR, Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen 1m 11.861s
8 William BULLER /GBR, Fortec Dallara-Mercedes 1m 12.093s
9 Harry TINCKNELL / GBR, Fortec Dallara-Mercedes 1m 12.215s
10 Hywel LLOYD / GBR, Sino Vision Dallara-Mercedes 1m 12.216s

Official live timing from the circuit can be found here:


Related posts
General Formula 3

Schumacher joins Charouz as Kari heads up trio of drivers

2 Mins read
Charouz have assembled their trio of drivers for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season
General Formula 3Season Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship - Supreme Shwartzman

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back on the inaugural 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship which saw Robert Shwartzman crowned champion.
Formula 3General Formula 3

Fernández makes ART F3 switch

1 Mins read
Spaniard Sebastián Fernández will complete ART Grand Prix’s driver line up for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season after completing a move from Campos Racing.

Leave a Reply