Last Gasp Bradl Snatches Pole From Luthi

2 Mins read

Stefan Bradl claimed his third pole out of three in 2011 but was given his sternest test yet on his way to securing it.

Pole constantly changed hands in the early stages with Marc Marquez setting the fastest time of the weekend so far ten minutes in before losing it at the halfway stage to Thomas Luthi. The Swiss rider held on to the fastest time until the final seven minutes when he was finally beaten by Mapfre Aspar's Julian Simon.

Luthi responded with a lap that was one thousandth of a second slower than the Spaniard before going even quicker on his next lap, going two tenths quicker than Simon.

With the chequered flag out, Stefan Bradl entered the final sector half a tenth down on Luthi, but the German dived into the slipstream provided by Ricard Cardus' Moriwaki on the pit straight to take pole by 0.163s.

Luthi and Simon completed the front row with Marc Marquez heading the second row of the grid in fourth. Dominique Aegerter was a surprise fifth but the TechnomagCIP rider nearly caused an even greater shock in the closing minutes until he crashed out at the Parabolica Interior when on course for a pole position lap.

Michele Pirro recovered from an early fall to snatch sixth from Gresini teammate Yuki Takahashi who will line up seventh. Kenan Sofuoglu threatened a pole position challenge but crashed in the final minute and was forced to settle for a place in the middle of the third row.

Fireworks look certain on row five, where championship leader Andrea Iannone will start. The Italian failed to get in the top ten once again but will still target a podium finish. Either side of him will be the British pair Scott Redding and Bradley Smith who qualified 13th and 15th respectively. Injury-stricken Kev Coghlan will start on the back row of the grid in 37th.

Qualifying Result:

Pos Rider Team Lap Time Gap
1 Stefan Bradl Viessman Kiefer Racing 1:41.591  
2 Thomas Luthi Interwetten Paddock Moto2 1:41.754 +0.163
3 Julian Simon Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:41.905 +0.314
4 Marc Marquez Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol 1:42.073 +0.482
5 Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP 1:42.143 +0.552
6 Michele Pirro Gresini Racing Moto2 1:42.219 +0.628
7 Yuki Takahashi Gresini Racing Moto2 1:42.259 +0.668
8 Kenan Sofuoglu Technomag-CIP 1:42.307 +0.716
9 Jules Cluzel Forward Racing 1:42.400 +0.809
10 Pol Espargaro HP Tuenti Speed Up 1:42.456 +0.865
11 Aleix Espargaro Pons HP 40 1:42.493 +0.902
12 Alex Baldolini Forward Racing 1:42.546 +0.955
13 Scott Redding Marc VDS Racing Team 1:42.563 +0.972
14 Andrea Iannone Speed Master 1:42.591 +1.000
15 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Racing 1:42.743 +1.152
16 Axel Pons Pons HP 40 1:42.746 +1.155
17 Simone Corsi Ioda Racing Project 1:42.844 +1.253
18 Raffaele de Rosa Desguaces La Torre G22 1:42.953 +1.362
19 Mattia Pasini Ioda Racing Project 1:42.996 +1.405
20 Ricard Cardus QMMF Racing Team 1:43.080 +1.489
21 Xavier Simeon Tech 3 B 1:43.120 +1.529
22 Mika Kallio Marc VDS Racing Team 1:43.140 +1.549
23 Esteve Rabat Blusens-STX 1:43.189 +1.598
24 Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda Singha SAG 1:43.286 +1.695
25 Randy Krummenacher GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing 1:43.346 +1.755
26 Mike Di Meglio Tech 3 Racing 1:43.366 +1.775
27 Kenny Noyes Avintia-STX 1:43.399 +1.808
28 Alex de Angelis JIR Moto2 1:43.472 +1.881
29 Anthony West MZ Racing Team 1:43.660 +2.069
30 Claudio Corti Italtrans Racing Team 1:43.674 +2.083
31 Javier Fores Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 1:43.710 +2.119
32 Valentin Debise Speed Up 1:44.010 +2.419
33 Yonny Hernandez Blusens-STX 1:44.090 +2.499
34 Santiago Hernandez SAG Team 1:44.355 +2.764
35 Robertino Pietri Italtrans Racing Team 1:44.835 +3.244
36 Mashel Al Naimi QMMF Racing Team 1:45.100 +3.509
37 Kev Coghlan Aeroport de Castello 1:45.380 +3.789
38 Steven Odendaal MS Racing 1:46.555 +4.964
107% Time: 1:48.702
NQ Max Neukirchner MZ Racing Team No Time (Injured)
NQ Lukasz Wargala Desguaces La Torre G22 No Time
Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

Leave a Reply