Ginetta JuniorGinetta SeriesSportscars

Seb Morris Takes Another Junior Win

2 Mins read

Seb Morris just can't stop winning at the moment, picking up his fourth consecutive Ginetta Junior Championship win with victory in Round four at Donington Park. The Hillspeed driver led from lights to flag to cap off yet another perfect weekend, moving the 15 year old over fifty points clear in the championship standings.

A good start saw Morris lead the back into Redgate, followed by Charlie Robertson, Brad Bailey and William Foster. Running fifth for the first couple of corners was Niall Murray, before the Irishman ran wide at the Old Hairpin, dropping two places to Tom Howard and Sennan Fielding.

However on the next lap, the reigning Ginetta Junior Ireland champion got a place back from Fielding at Redgate, before running wide at the Old Hairpin again to drop behind once more. Ahead, another driver to lose out was Robertson, the HHC driver spinning off and re-joining at the back of the field.

At the front, Morris began to get a small lead but was soon to be greeted on track by the safety car, caused by a multi-car incident at the final chicane. A spin by returnee Finlay Ratcliffe caused Jake Giddings, Myles Collins and Struan Moore to go off in avoidance. Moore was unable to recover and retired, while the other two got back on track and continued, despite Giddings losing his bonnet.

After two laps, the racing restarted with Morris unable to get clear of his closest rivals, the front four running incredibly close over the opening lap. The first to lose out was Bailey, dropping a place to Howard at Coppice, before then dropping back further after being punted through the gravel at Coppice by Robertson.  

With a few laps left, Morris began coming under severe pressure from Foster, while behind, there was a change for fourth place, with Max Coates sliding up the inside of Beacon Racing's Murray, who then dropped back a few more places.

As the race reached its final lap, the final three were still incredibly close, but Morris held on to continue his 100% winning record in 2011, followed home by Tollbar pair Foster and Howard. Fourth place went to Coates, with TJ Motorsports George Gamble fifth, setting the fastest lap in the process.

Sixth on the road was a recovering Robertson, but he was later excluded from the race, promoting Westbourne Motorsport's Collins to a top six finish, his best result of the season so far. Completing the top ten were HHC's Mikey Day, Murray and Kelvin Jones Motorsport pair Patrick McClughan and Declan Jones.

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Historic RacingSportscars

Motorsport Nostalgia Takes Center Stage at Gulf Historic Dubai GP Revival

1 Mins read
Classic motorsports shine at Gulf Historic Dubai GP Revival 2023, featuring iconic wins, intense battles, and a merger with Masters Historic Racing. The event drew over 16,000 attendees, marking a growing interest in vintage racing.

MotoGP star Rossi announced as BMW M Motorsports driver for 2023

2 Mins read
BMW M Motorsport has announced the MotoGP legend Valentino Rossi as a works driver for 2023
FeaturesGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta Series

Farewell To The Ginetta GT4 SuperCup

8 Mins read
A look back at the history of the Ginetta GT4 SuperCup, which ran from 2011 to 2022, with input from the likes of Tom Ingram, Adam Morgan and Harry King.