Road Racing

IOM TT Privateers Championship Set For Second Year

2 Mins read

In the 2011 Isle of Man TT Races Fuelled by Monster Energy Solo classes, over 60 of the entered riders will be eligible to be entered into the prestigious “TT Privateers Championship.”

The TT Privateers Championship was added to the TT honours board in 2010. It allows solo teams and solo riders of independent status to achieve recognition for their efforts at the highest level in the world's premier road race. Last year's Championship went down to the wire and was eventually won by James McBride ahead of American Jimmy Moore and Northern Ireland's Davy Morgan.

2010 winner James McBride

John Burrows, Gary Carswell, Mark Parrett, Mark Buckley, up and coming star Ian Mackman, former MGP winners Derek Brien, Simon Fulton and leading newcomers from 12 months ago Stephen Thompson, Brian McCormack and Dan Cooper will all be entered into the Championship for 2011.

Other riders expected to be included in the championship are Simon Andrews and Jimmy Storrar, both newcomers to the TT in 2011. There's also a strong challenge from overseas riders, with Italian ace Stefano Bonetti and Spaniard Antonio Maeso both expected to figure in the Championship.

The Championship's entry criteria have been clearly defined and all teams must declare that they have no direct manufacturer assistance to make sure they are eligible to be entered into the Championship. Each entry is judged on the ability and career to date of the rider, the bike that they are riding and the operation, resources and structure of the team.

Any rider who has finished inside the top ten in any solo race at the previous year's TT is automatically ineligible to be entered. Using the world championship points scoring system, points will be awarded to the first 15 finishes in the Pokerstars Superbike Race, Royal London 360 Superstock Race, Monster Energy Supersport Race 1 & 2 and the Dainese Senior TT Races.

The prestigious award also comes with a £2,000 cheque for the first placed rider with £1000 for the runner up and £500 for third place.

Milky Quayle, The TT Rider Liaison officer commented on the Championship saying; “privateers make a huge contribution to the TT and it is really important that their efforts are recognised. The TT Privateer Championship is expected to again be hotly contested by a large number of riders from the UK, Ireland and overseas in 2011 and many of these will be lapping in the 120-125mph bracket. This is a great way of recognising and rewarding their commitment and achievements.”

Related posts
British SuperbikeDakarRoad Racing

Isle of Man TT winner James Hillier set for Dakar Rally debut in 2023 Malle Moto

2 Mins read
After a delay, James Hillier will make his first Dakar Rally start in 2023. Riding in the Malle Moto class, he will be the first Isle of Man TT winner to challenge Dakar.
Road Racing

Isle of Man TT 2020 cancelled amid Coronavirus fears

1 Mins read
The 2020 Isle of Man TT is cancelled due to coronavirus fears
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.