Folger on Top As Rain Brings Early End to FP1

2 Mins read

Jonas Folger made a bright start to the TT Assen weekend by topping a first practice session which was disrupted by light rain.

Conditions on Thursday morning were cold and spots of rain began to fall within six minutes of the session getting underway, with only a handful of riders having set a time, Hector Faubel the quickest of them.

Once the riders re-emerged, several took turns at the top of the timesheets, including Britain's Danny Webb for a prolonged spell, but eventually it was Folger who was the fastest man when the rain returned with five minutes to go.

The German who claimed his first ever Grand Prix win two weeks ago at Silverstone seems to have been given a confidence boost by that victory, and he led the way with a 1:47.191.

Compatriot Sandro Cortese was 0.387s behind in second ahead of Maverick Vinales, with championship leader Nicolas Terol unaccustomed to be as low as fourth. Bankia Aspar teammate Hector Faubel was fifth ahead of Frenchman Alexis Masbou who impressed on the Caretta Technology KTM.

Luigi Morciano was another unfamiliar name at the top of the leader board with the Italian ending the session in seventh ahead of Luis Salom who will look to build on his career-best fourth place in the British Grand Prix.

The Brits performed well at their home event and that form continued here with Danny Kent and Danny Webb going ninth and tenth. Webb appeared to get up to speed quicker than anyone else in the slippery conditions but was one of six riders to slide off track when the rain returned late on.

Taylor Mackenzie was another to fall and ended the session in 28th. The Scottish teenager will not take part in this afternoon's session as he goes off to take an A-Level exam in Product Design. Harry Stafford will hope to be involved after missing this morning's session altogether.

Free Practice 1 Times:

Pos Rider Nat Team FP1 Gap
1 Jonas Folger GER Red Bull Ajo MotorSport 1:47.191
2 Sandro Cortese GER Intact-Racing Team Germany 1:47.578 +0.387
3 Maverick Vinales SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing 1:48.147 +0.956
4 Nicolas Terol SPA Bankia Aspar Team 1:48.847 +1.656
5 Hector Faubel SPA Bankia Aspar Team 1:49.115 +1.924
6 Alexis Masbou FRA Caretta Technology 1:49.129 +1.938
7 Luigi Morciano ITA Team Italia FMI 1:49.424 +2.233
8 Luis Salom SPA RW Racing GP 1:49.908 +2.717
9 Danny Kent GBR Red Bull Ajo MotorSport 1:49.976 +2.785
10 Danny Webb GBR Mahindra Racing 1:49.979 +2.788
11 Sturla Fagerhaug NOR WTR-Ten10 Racing 1:50.109 +2.918
12 Marcel Schrotter GER Mahindra Racing 1:50.119 +2.928
13 Alberto Moncayo SPA Andalucía Banca Civica 1:50.275 +3.084
14 Luca Gruenwald GER Freudenberg Racing Team 1:50.391 +3.200
15 Bryan Schouten NED Dutch Racing Team 1:50.719 +3.528
16 Simone Grotzkyj ITA Phonica Racing 1:50.762 +3.571
17 Johann Zarco FRA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo 1:50.931 +3.740
18 Sergio Gadea SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing 1:50.993 +3.802
19 Peter Sebestyen HUN Caretta Technology 1:51.147 +3.956
20 Jakub Kornfeil CZE Ongetta-Centro-Seta 1:51.255 +4.064
21 Jerry van de Bunt NED Jerrys Racing Team 1:51.466 +4.275
22 Giulian Pedone SWI Phonica Racing 1:51.583 +4.392
23 Jasper Iwema NED Ongetta-Abbink-Metaal 1:51.689 +4.498
24 Niklas Ajo FIN TT Motion Events Racing 1:51.832 +4.641
25 Efren Vazquez SPA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo 1:52.315 +5.124
26 Adrian Martin SPA Bankia Aspar Team 1:52.701 +5.510
27 Louis Rossi FRA Matteoni Racing 1:52.891 +5.700
28 Taylor Mackenzie GBR Phonica Racing 1:53.060 +5.869
29 Ernst Dubbink NED RV Racing Team 1:53.259 +6.068
30 Francesco Mauriello ITA WTR-Ten10 Racing 1:53.304 +6.113
31 Zulfahmi Khairuddin MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo 1:53.802 +6.611
32 Josep Rodriguez SPA Andalucía Banca Civica 1:53.816 +6.625
33 Joan Perello SPA Matteoni Racing 1:54.201 +7.010
Provisional 107% Time: 1:54.694
NC Alessandro Tonucci ITA Team Italia FMI 1:56.449 +9.258
NC Thomas van Leeuwen NED Racing Team Van Leeuwen 1:57.462 +10.271
NC Harry Stafford GBR Ongetta-Centro-Seta No Time


Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
125British Endurance ChampionshipBritish SuperbikeBTCCFormula 1Formula Renault BARCGB3General Formula 3IndyCarMotoGPWTCCX Games

The TCF Team Pick - Moment Of The Year

7 Mins read
The authors of The Checkered Flag pick their moment of the year, including a dead heat, a miraculous rebuild and the best overtaking move of F1 in 2011 – bar none.

Jerez Set For 2012 Grand Prix Of Spain

1 Mins read
Dorna and the city of Jerez have announced an agreement which will see the 2012 Grand Prix of Spain take place at the Circuito de Jerez.
125MotorcyclesSeason Review

125cc Season Review 2011: Terol At The Last

16 Mins read
The days and weeks preceding the opening race of a Grand Prix season are normally filled with excitement, expectation and unpredictability but ahead of the final 125cc World Championship before Moto3’s introduction, most two-wheel experts were in no doubt as to the destiny of the title