Marquez Dominates Moto2 Qualifying at Silverstone

2 Mins read

Marc Marquez cruised to pole position for the Moto2 British Grand Prix to end Stefan Bradl's unbeaten record in qualifying this season.

After setting the pace in morning practice, the Catalunya Caixa Repsol rider carried the momentum into qualifying and sat at the top of the timesheets for almost the entire session. Marquez took provisional pole 12 minutes in with a 2:08.481, and little did he know, he had already secured pole position with second placed Scott Redding managing a best lap of 2:08.598.

But Marquez had even speed in reserve and went nearly three tenths quicker than his own pole time to demolish the opposition. Redding provided some positive news on a terrible day for British fans with second place while Stefan Bradl will start from the outside of the front row.

While Marquez was busy confirming pole position, Jules Cluzel followed closely behind the Spaniard to take fourth and put himself in position to challenge for a second successive Silverstone victory. Simone Corsi will be looking to reduce Bradl's championship lead from fifth on the grid while Michele Pirro will start from sixth.

With the wind making life difficult for the riders, many set their fastest times early in the session. Aleix Espargaro was one of those as he qualified seventh. Randy Krummenacher and Mike Di Meglio did leave it late though but it paid off for them as they both secured their highest grid slots of the year in eighth and ninth respectively.

Alex De Angelis completed the top ten with a number of championship contenders in unfamiliar positions. Yuki Takahashi will start from 12th, two places ahead of Thomas Luthi who had starred in qualifying up until now. Andrea Iannone had the worst time of all with an off track moment contributing to a lowly 33rd place on the grid.

Kev Coghlan will start 24th, four places ahead of Bradley Smith whose session was fraught with problems. The Tech 3 rider was forced to pit on several occasions to try and fix a throttle problem and only got two flying laps at the end of the session.


Qualifying Result:

Pos Rider Nat Team Lap Time Gap
1 Marc Marquez SPA Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol 2:08.101
2 Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team 2:08.598 +0.497
3 Stefan Bradl GER Viessman Kiefer Racing 2:08.618 +0.517
4 Jules Cluzel FRA Forward Racing 2:08.923 +0.822
5 Simone Corsi ITA Ioda Racing Project 2:08.976 +0.875
6 Michele Pirro ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 2:09.021 +0.920
7 Aleix Espargaro SPA Pons HP 40 2:09.216 +1.115
8 Randy Krummenacher SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing 2:09.415 +1.314
9 Mike Di Meglio FRA Tech 3 Racing 2:09.527 +1.426
10 Alex de Angelis RSM JIR Moto2 2:09.646 +1.545
11 Claudio Corti ITA Italtrans Racing Team 2:09.656 +1.555
12 Yuki Takahashi JAP Gresini Racing Moto2 2:09.679 +1.578
13 Kenan Sofuoglu TUR Technomag-CIP 2:09.711 +1.610
14 Thomas Luthi SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 2:09.725 +1.624
15 Raffaele de Rosa ITA SAG Team 2:09.803 +1.702
16 Axel Pons SPA Pons HP 40 2:09.994 +1.893
17 Max Neukirchner GER MZ Racing Team 2:10.069 +1.968
18 Xavier Simeon BEL Tech 3 B 2:10.077 +1.976
19 Jordi Torres SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 2:10.122 +2.021
20 Yonny Hernandez COL Blusens-STX 2:10.220 +2.119
21 Esteve Rabat SPA Blusens-STX 2:10.262 +2.161
22 Mattia Pasini ITA Ioda Racing Project 2:10.312 +2.211
23 Pol Espargaro SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up 2:10.514 +2.413
24 Kev Coghlan GBR Aeroport de Castello 2:10.551 +2.450
25 Carmelo Morales SPA Desguaces La Torre G22 2:10.565 +2.464
26 Mika Kallio FIN Marc VDS Racing Team 2:10.744 +2.643
27 Kenny Noyes USA Avintia-STX 2:10.765 +2.664
28 Bradley Smith GBR Tech 3 Racing 2:10 804 +2.703
29 Valentin Debise FRA Speed Up 2:10.920 +2.819
30 Javier Fores SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 2:10.968 +2.867
31 Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag-CIP 2:11.057 +2.956
32 Ratthapark Wilairot THA Thai Honda Singha SAG 2:11.083 +2.982
33 Andrea Iannone ITA Speed Master 2:11.335 +3.234
34 Alex Baldolini ITA Forward Racing 2:11.399 +3.298
35 Robertino Pietri VEN Italtrans Racing Team 2:11.562 +3.461
36 Anthony West AUS MZ Racing Team 2:13.483 +5.382
37 Mashel Al Naimi QAT QMMF Racing Team 2:13.935 +5.834
38 Nasser Hasan Al Malki SPA QMMF Racing Team 2:15.869 +7.768
107% Time: 2:17.068


Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

Leave a Reply