Giermaziak Takes Maiden Supercup Pole Ahead Of Teammate Rosina

The Verva Racing Team scored a surprise front row lockout for the 200th race in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup at the Nurburgring, as Kuba Giermaziak took his first pole position in the series. The Pole was nearly three tenths of a second quicker than teammate Stefan Rosina, who will line up alongside him in second.

“It couldn't have been better,” said Giermaziak, who also topped the free practice session on Friday and lies seventh in the standings. “I'm so thrilled with my first pole position.

“But we already noticed in free practice that we had the speed. The entire team prepared everything brilliantly. The Nürburgring is my absolute favourite, in fact I'm always fast here. Achieving pole position is of course a fantastic effort. Now we will try everything to turn it into a fantastic race result.”

Slovakian racer Rosina said: “A huge compliment to my team. With two of us on the first two grid spots, it shows just how well we prepared. The race will certainly not be easy, after all we have a couple of hot-shots breathing hard down our necks. But first we're going to enjoy this wonderful result and tomorrow we'll be ready to fight for a top place.”

Defending champion, points leader and winner of the last three races Rene Rast will start the race from third position for Veltins Lechner Racing. Rival Nick Tandy will line up alongside him in fourth place.

Rast's teammate Norbert Siedler was fifth, one place ahead of Patrick Huisman. The Team Abu Dhabi by tolimit duo of Sean Edwards and Jeroen Bleekemolen will start from the fourth row, and will both look to move forward from there.

Qualifying results:

Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Kuba Giermaziak Verva 2:01.791
2 Stefan Rosina Verva 2:02.086 + 0.295
3 Rene Rast Veltins Lechner 2:02.167 + 0.376
4 Nick Tandy Konrad 2:02.224 + 0.433
5 Norbert Siedler Veltins Lechner 2:02.359 + 0.568
6 Patrick Huisman Bleekemolen 2:02.592 + 0.801
7 Sean Edwards Abu Dhabi by tolimit 2:02.620 + 0.829
8 Jeroen Bleekemolen Abu Dhabi by tolimit 2:02.698 + 0.907
9 Kevin Estre Hermes Attempto 2:02.763 + 0.972
10 Robert Lukas Hermes Attempto 2:02.782 + 0.991
11 Christian Engelhardt Konrad 2:02.833 + 1.042
12 Sebastiaan Bleekemolen Bleekemolen 2:02.902 + 1.111
13 William Langhorne Sanitec Aquiles MRS 2:03.423 + 1.632
14 Matt Halliday Sanitec Aquiles MRS 2:03.459 + 1.668
15 Mathias Lauda Konrad Motorsport Austria 2:03.644 + 1.853
16 Alessandro Zampedri Bleekemolen 2:04.169 + 2.378
17 Khaled Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi by tolimit 2:04.598 + 2.807
18 Andreas Mayerl Konrad Motorsport Austria 2:04.618 + 2.827
19 Hans-Guido Riegel Haribo Racing Team 2:10.470 + 8.679
20 Christian Menzel Haribo Racing Team No time