Last Gasp Marquez Snatches Pole From Bradl

3 Mins read

Marc Marquez stunned championship rival Stefan Bradl by beating him to pole position in a thrilling conclusion to qualifying at Brno. The series leader was in dominant form throughout the weekend and was over half a second ahead of everybody else at one stage, but heading into the final few minutes, no fewer than five riders were all fighting it out for the three spots on the front row.

Bradl's advantage evaporated with seven minutes left on the clock when Marquez clocked a 2:02.740, the fastest lap of the weekend so far. Bradl fought back with two minutes to go, going three hundredths quicker but Thomas Luthi and Andrea Iannone were coming into contention.

Iannone put in a 2:03.009 to move onto the front row but was instantly knocked off by Luthi. Fourth then became fifth when Alex De Angelis rocketed up to second. The San Marino rider was following Marquez around the circuit and used the slipstream to great effect, pushing the Spaniard down to third.

Marquez wasn't finished though and produced a scintillating lap to take his third consecutive pole, beating Bradl by two tenths of a second with De Angelis close behind in third. Luthi and Iannone drew the short straws and will start fourth and fifth with Aleix Espargaro qualifying an excellent sixth despite riding with a broken vertebra.

The two Ioda Racing FTRs will start on the third row with Simone Corsi seventh and Mattia Pasini matching his best qualifying performance of the year in eighth. Claudio Corti completed an all Italian third row in ninth while Randy Krummenacher finished tenth despite missing the end of the session with a crash.

The two British riders had a tough session though and both will have work to do in the race. Bradley Smith was running fourth in the very early stages but gradually slipped down the order before salvaging 16th with his final lap of the session. Scott Redding struggled too and will be hugely disappointed with 20th after troubling the top six in free practice.

Their problems were nothing compared to Julian Simon who crashed on his first flying lap of the session. As a result, the former 125cc World Champion will start at the back of the 39-man grid, assuming he isn't badly injured following his accident.


Qualifying Result:

Pos Rider Nat Bike Team Time/Gap
1 Marc Marquez SPA Suter Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol 2:02.493
2 Stefan Bradl GER Kalex Viessman Kiefer Racing +0.211
3 Alex de Angelis RSM Motobi JIR Moto2 +0.232
4 Thomas Luthi SWI Suter Interwetten Paddock Moto2 +0.355
5 Andrea Iannone ITA Suter Speed Master +0.450
6 Aleix Espargaro SPA Pons Kalex Pons HP 40 +0.968
7 Simone Corsi ITA FTR Ioda Racing Project +1.004
8 Mattia Pasini ITA FTR Ioda Racing Project +1.030
9 Claudio Corti ITA Suter Italtrans Racing Team +1.052
10 Randy Krummenacher SWI Kalex GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing +1.113
11 Jules Cluzel FRA Suter NGM Forward Racing +1.134
12 Dominique Aegerter SWI Suter Technomag-CIP +1.169
13 Kenan Sofuoglu TUR Suter Technomag-CIP +1.209
14 Pol Espargaro SPA FTR HP Tuenti Speed Up +1.222
15 Max Neukirchner GER MZ-RE Honda MZ Racing Team +1.256
16 Bradley Smith GBR Tech 3 Tech 3 Racing +1.351
17 Yuki Takahashi JAP Moriwaki Gresini Racing Moto2 +1.356
18 Esteve Rabat SPA FTR Blusens-STX +1.405
19 Valentin Debise FRA FTR Speed Up +1.512
20 Scott Redding GBR Suter Marc VDS Racing Team +1.532
21 Ratthapark Wilairot THA FTR Thai Honda Singha SAG +1.589
22 Michele Pirro ITA Moriwaki Gresini Racing Moto2 +1.660
23 Jordi Torres SPA Suter Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 +1.685
24 Mike Di Meglio FRA Tech 3 Tech 3 Racing +1.827
25 Robertino Pietri VEN Suter Italtrans Racing Team +1.858
26 Ricard Cardus SPA Moriwaki QMMF Racing Team +1.995
27 Axel Pons SPA Pons Kalex Pons HP 40 +2.081
28 Carmelo Morales SPA Suter Desguaces La Torre G22 +2.093
29 Yonny Hernandez COL FTR Blusens-STX +2.130
30 Mika Kallio FIN Suter Marc VDS Racing Team +2.330
31 Alex Baldolini ITA Suter NGM Forward Racing +2.422
32 Kenny Noyes USA FTR Avintia-STX +2.464
33 Xavier Simeon BEL Tech 3 Tech 3 B +2.727
34 Anthony West AUS MZ-RE Honda MZ Racing Team +3.220
35 Steven Odendaal (WC) RSA Suter MS Racing +3.498
36 Santiago Hernandez COL FTR SAG Team +3.856
37 Mashel Al Naimi QAT Moriwaki QMMF Racing Team +5.012
38 Tommaso Lorenzetti ITA FTR Aeroport de Castello +5.764
107% Time: 2:11.068
NQ Julian Simon SPA Suter Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 No Time


Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

Leave a Reply