Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Dominant Marquez Takes Easy Pole At Aragon

3 Mins read
Marc Marquez - Photo Credit:

Marc Marquez - Photo Credit:

Marc Marquez
was simply untouchable in qualifying for the Grand Prix of Aragon as he took an unchallenged pole position for tomorrow's race. The Spaniard set the pace in this morning's extended practice session and only took only five minutes of qualifying to go even quicker, setting a 1:53.761 on his second flying lap.

It was a sign of his dominance that Marquez needn't have bothered going out again, as no other riders managed to get near that time, but the championship hopeful still had enough in reserve to go half a second quicker. His lap time of 1:53.296 took almost two seconds off Andrea Iannone's previous circuit record and left the other 38 riders scrapping for second.

Title rival Stefan Bradl led the chasing pack early on with a 1:54.257 as he continued his desperate attempt to keep Marquez in sight, but Aleix Espargaro moved in front of him by three hundredths of a second midway through the session.

The front row remained unchanged until the final two minutes when Julian Simon grabbed second the Mapfre Aspar Suter. The former 125cc World Champion has endured a torrid season including a leg-breaking accident at Catalunya but will start from the front row for just the second time this year, a major confidence boost for the Spaniard.

The session did come to a painful end for Simon though after losing control shortly after his flying lap. Despite an awkward landing, he limped back into parc ferme and visited the medical centre for a precautionary check-up.

Scott Redding's late-summer improvement continued with another qualifying performance for the Marc VDS team. The Briton was third fastest in the morning and repeated that display in the afternoon to join Marquez and Simon on the front row.

Redding's late effort pushed Espargaro off the front row and Alex de Angelis demoted him to fifth moments later. Stefan Bradl had now fallen to sixth but dug deep on his final lap to take fourth, albeit 0.779s away from pole.

Jules Cluzel will head up the third row ahead of the younger Espargaro brother, Pol, in eighth and Mika Kallio ninth while Andrea Iannone will certainly be worth watching from tenth.

Bradley Smith will also be looking to carve his way through the field after a difficult day. The Tech 3 youngster led the morning practice session until a crash and never seemed to recover for the rest of the day. Smith struggled with a visibly twitchy Mistral 610 and could only manage 15th.


Qualifying Result:

Pos Rider Nat Bike Team Time/Gap
1 Marc Marquez SPA Suter Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol 1:53.296
2 Julian Simon SPA Suter Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 +0.684
3 Scott Redding GBR Suter Marc VDS Racing Team +0.708
4 Stefan Bradl GER Kalex Viessman Kiefer Racing +0.779
5 Alex de Angelis RSM Motobi JIR Moto2 +0.878
6 Aleix Espargaro SPA Pons Kalex Pons HP 40 +0.924
7 Jules Cluzel FRA Suter NGM Forward Racing +0.993
8 Pol Espargaro SPA FTR HP Tuenti Speed Up +1.062
9 Mika Kallio FIN Suter Marc VDS Racing Team +1.089
10 Andrea Iannone ITA Suter Speed Master +1.094
11 Thomas Luthi SWI Suter Interwetten Paddock Moto2 +1.117
12 Simone Corsi ITA FTR Ioda Racing Project +1.222
13 Michele Pirro ITA Moriwaki Gresini Racing Moto2 +1.278
14 Yuki Takahashi JAP Moriwaki Gresini Racing Moto2 +1.303
15 Bradley Smith GBR Tech 3 Tech 3 Racing +1.323
16 Claudio Corti ITA Suter Italtrans Racing Team +1.329
17 Max Neukirchner GER MZ-RE Honda MZ Racing Team +1.457
18 Mattia Pasini ITA FTR Ioda Racing Project +1.497
19 Mike Di Meglio FRA Tech 3 Tech 3 Racing +1.593
20 Esteve Rabat SPA FTR Blusens-STX +1.650
21 Anthony West AUS MZ-RE Honda MZ Racing Team +1.751
22 Jordi Torres SPA Suter Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 +1.788
23 Dominique Aegerter SWI Suter Technomag-CIP +1.879
24 Xavier Simeon BEL Tech 3 Tech 3 B +1.987
25 Randy Krummenacher SWI Kalex GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing +2.028
26 Ricard Cardus SPA Moriwaki QMMF Racing Team +2.099
27 Alex Baldolini ITA Pons Kalex Pons HP 40 +2.149
28 Yonny Hernandez COL FTR Blusens-STX +2.264
29 Raffaele de Rosa ITA Suter NGM Forward Racing +2.297
30 Tomoyoshi Koyama JAP Suter Technomag-CIP +2.312
31 Ratthapark Wilairot THA FTR Thai Honda Singha SAG +2.439
32 Santiago Hernandez COL FTR SAG Team +2.571
33 Valentin Debise FRA FTR Speed Up +2.630
34 Kenny Noyes USA FTR Avintia-STX +2.652
35 Joan Olive SPA FTR Aeroport de Castello +3.317
36 Sergio Gadea SPA Suter Desguaces La Torre G22 +3.340
37 Robertino Pietri VEN Suter Italtrans Racing Team +3.395
38 Mashel Al Naimi QAT Moriwaki QMMF Racing Team +3.901
39 Elena Rosell (WC) SPA Suter Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 +5.510
107% Qualifying Time: 2:01.228
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
MotorcyclesNASCAR Cup Series

NASCAR, American Flat Track join forces for Charlotte Roval weekend

1 Mins read
For the first time ever, the NASCAR Cup Series and American Flat Track will share a race weekend together, doing so at Charlotte Motor Speedway in October.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

Leave a Reply