Touring CarsV8 Supercars

Lowndes And Skaife Defend Their L&H 500 Crown At Phillip Island

4 Mins read
Mark Skaife & Craig Lowndes Photo Credit: TeamVodafone

'Dream team' V8 Supercars veterans Craig Lowndes and Mark Skaife came through the 500km race at Phillip Island on Sunday to secure the back-to-back victory and their third straight endurance win. The pair were followed by team-mates Jamie Whincup and Andrew Thompson, with pole-sitters Will Davison and Luke Youlden crossing the line third. Lowndes' win closes Whincup's championship standings lead to just 92 points.

The victory didn't come easily though. In a dramatic race that began with an aborted start, the Team Vodafone pairing had to withstand challenges from Whincup and Garth Tander before facing a late-race threat from Shane van Gisbergen.

With Skaife handing over in second place to Lowndes after a near perfect stint, Lowndes scrapped for the lead with Tander, the pair trading positions several times after a mid-race pit stop. It was an incredible recovery for the Toll Holden Racing Team #2 car after Tander's co-driver Nick Percat had to start from pit lane having stalled on the front row of the grid. Percat went on to produce the drive of the day charging through the field to get back into contention before Tander took over.

In the final stint Lowndes came under huge pressure from van Gisbergen, the Kiwi putting in a blistering performance to climb back up into second place after SP Tools Racing co-driver John McIntyre lost out in the first round of pit stops. But with just ten laps to go, van Gisbergen's Falcon picked up debris on its right-front tyre – which, coupled with fading tyre life allowed Whincup to swoop.

Championship leader Whincup and co-driver Thompson had led for much of the middle part of the race before two minor pit delays; the first due to a sticking door damaged in contact with Skaife early on, and the second when a couple of geese wandered across the track triggering the safety car. Both Triple Eight cars pitted at the same time and Whincup was forced to queue behind Lowndes.

With six laps to go Trading Post FPR Falcon driver Will Davison was fifth, but a late charge saw him pass Tander and the ailing van Gisbergen to take the final place on the podium.

Tander, whose Commodore fell away over the closing laps pipped van Gisbergen by just 0.0015s at the finish line for fourth.

“Today was extraordinary,” said Skaife. “Craig is driving as good as I have ever seen him drive. For the team to have a 1-2, it's so competitive to have that at any stage is an unbelievable achievement.

“I felt good today. I've definitely pulled up better than I did this time last year. This is the sort of hit out that I need before Bathurst. I'll be better again at Bathurst just because of that.”

Reflecting on the trouble free weekend, Lowdnes added: “It's been a pretty smooth weekend for us as a team; everything we have done has worked. It's been a big effort from the team all year, not just this weekend.

“When Shane was closing that gap I radioed in and said I didn't want to go any faster and burn the tyres and have nothing left to fight if he got to us.

“He got to about three seconds away but must have had a problem and went backwards as fast as he came up to me. It was a blessing for me; we were pushing as hard as we could.”

Stratco Racing's Dave Reynolds (co-driver Tim Blanchard) held on for sixth ahead of Jason Bright who made an epic recovery after Team BOC's race was severely hampered when co-driver Andrew Jones received a harsh drive-through penalty for contact with Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon driver Steve Richards.

Jack Daniel's Racing Rick Kelly (co-driver Owen Kelly) finished eighth ahead of Toll Holden Racing Team's James Courtney (co-driver Cameron McConville) and Bundaberg Racing's Fabian Coulthard (co-driver Chris Baird).

The V8 Supercars Championship continues with the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 on 6-9 October.

Photo credit: TeamVodafone

Race 19 results:

Pos Car Entrant Driver Vehicle Fastest Lap Time Race Time Laps Points
1 888 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes / Mark Skaife Commodore VE2 01:35:0393 03:08:13:2041 113 200
2 88 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup / Andrew Thompson Commodore VE2 01:35:3306 03:08:19:5246 113 184
3 6 Trading Post FPR Falcon Will Davison / Luke Youlden Falcon FG 01:35:6746 03:08:22:4172 113 172
4 2 Toll Holden Racing Team Garth Tander / Nick Percat Commodore VE 01:35:7410 03:08:28:8276 113 160
5 9 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen / John McIntyre Falcon FG 01:35:7665 03:08:28:8291 113 148
6 16 Stratco Racing David Reynolds / Tim Blanchard Commodore VE2 01:35:5865 03:08:32:7481 113 136
7 8 Team Boc Jason Bright / Andrew Jones Commodore VE2 01:35:5458 03:08:40:5791 113 128
8 15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly / Owen Kelly Commodore VE2 01:35:9170 03:08:45:5526 113 120
9 1 Toll Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville / James Courtney Commodore VE2 01:35:5959 03:08:47:8172 113 112
10 61 Bundaberg Racing Fabian Coulthard / Craig Baird Commodore VE2 01:36:2960 03:08:54:1586 113 104
11 14 Jana Living Racing Jason Bargwanna / Shane Price Commodore VE2 01:36:3431 03:09:02:8816 113 96
12 33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Lee Holdsworth / Greg Ritter Commodore VE2 01:35:9619 03:09:05:4988 113 92
13 11 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy / Allan Simonsen Commodore VE2 01:36:1687 03:09:15:8124 113 88
14 7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly / David Russell Commodore VE2 01:36:2544 03:09:20:5841 113 84
15 49 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris / Steve Owen Commodore VE2 01:36:1570 03:09:20:8000 113 80
16 34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso / Marcus Marshall Commodore VE2 01:36:0309 03:09:27:3506 113 76
17 5 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon Steve Richards / Mark Winterbottom Falcon FG 01:36:1141 03:09:30:8892 113 72
18 19 Mother Energy Racing Team Jonathon Webb / Richard Lyons Falcon FG 01:36:4849 03:09:32:8809 113 68
19 12 Triple F Racing Michael Patrizi / Dean Fiore Falcon FG 01:35:8596 03:09:35:2925 113 64
20 39 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall / Jack Perkins Commodore VE2 01:36:2798 03:09:37:7942 113 60
21 3 Wilson Security Racing Dale Wood / Taz Douglas Falcon FG 01:36:4127 03:09:37:9803 113 56
22 4 Irwin Racing Alex Davison / David Brabham Falcon FG 01:36:3627 03:09:40:9345 113 52
23 55 The Bottle-O Racing Team Paul Dumbrell / Dean Canto Falcon FG 01:36:7196 03:09:43:4596 113 48
24 47 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade / Daniel Gaunt Falcon FG 01:36:4326 03:09:43:6874 113 44
25 18 Jim Beam Racing James Moffat / Matthew Halliday Falcon FG 01:36:4593 03:09:46:4981 113 40
26 17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson / David Besnard Falcon FG 01:36:5138 03:08:24:9338 112 36
27 30 Gulf Western Oil Racing Warren Luff / Nathan Pretty Commodore VE2 01:37:3126 03:08:50:6557 111 32
28 21 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler / David Wall Commodore VE2 01:36:6492 03:08:24:3771 100 28
Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply