Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Ginetta GT4 Supercup

Sharp Wins As Morgan Takes Supercup Title

3 Mins read
Race winner Tom Sharp (Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography)

Race winner Tom Sharp (Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography)

Adam Morgan has been crowned the 2011 Michelin Ginetta GT Supercup champion after taking second place in the final round of the season at Silverstone. As Tom Sharp drove into the distance for his second race win of the weekend, Morgan fought his way past chief rival Carl Breeze to secure the title and with it a fully funded drive in the 2012 British Touring Car Championship.

Heading into the race, Breeze led Morgan by four points in the championship standings. Morgan started second on the grid, with Breeze third, the duo sitting behind polesitter Sharp. A great getaway for Sharp saw him take the lead, while Nathan Freke bolted into second, the Century Motorsport driver just managing to take his place on the grid after a spin on the green flag lap. In the title battle, a good getaway for Breeze saw him sneak past Morgan for third.

Behind there was drama though when series newcomer Jamie Orton stalled in his Total Control Racing G55. Though Trevor Keats managed to avoid in in his G50, Jody Fannin wasn't so lucky, the youngster just clipping the rear of his car, breaking his suspension and forcing him to retire for the first time all season.

This caused the introduction of the safety car, with the race restarting on lap eight. Straight on the attack was Morgan, the Ciceley Racing driver diving past Breeze at Copse, before defending well into Becketts to hold the position. Breeze fought back though and regained the place at Luffield.

The championship contenders closed up on Freke, with George Murrells and Colin White joining behind them, making it a five car fight for second. Morgan used this to his advantage, as with Breeze getting slowed by Freke, he was able to find his way back into third at Luffield on lap eleven.

As it stood, Breeze and Morgan sat level on points, meaning the fastest lap came into contention. Sharp held the fastest lap at the start, but with Morgan now clear of Breeze, he was able to up his pace and set a new fastest lap on lap fifteen, giving him the one extra point that would provisionally give him the championship.

Morgan now closed on Freke, with Breeze unable to keep up as he defended from Murrells. With Sharp clear in the distance, the eyes were on the battle for second, with Morgan getting by Freke on lap eighteen to further cement his points advantage.

At the front, Sharp cruised home to take his ninth win of the season, the IDL driver ending the year with more wins than any other driver. Morgan came home second to secure the title, while Century Motorsport's Freke held onto third ahead of a frustrated Breeze, the Total Control Racing driver losing out on the title by just five points.

In the G50 battle, Jake Hill took a comfortable class win, with Andrew Richardson taking second. Redbrick Racing's Mark Johnston ran third for most the race, but was handed a drive through penalty for exceeding the track limits, promoting series newcomer Mark Davies up to third. Aaron Williamson took fourth in class, securing the FML driver the runner up spot in the G50 championship behind Tom Ingram, the champion not racing this weekend.  Unable to compete in the race was Louise Richardson after an accident in the opening race caused extensive damage to her Richardson Racing-run G50.

2011 Champion Adam Morgan With His Ciceley Racing-prepared G55 - Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


A delighted Morgan spoke to after the post-race podium celebrations, commenting: “It’s unbelievable, i’m still absolutely speechless. Just want to say a huge thank you to my team Ciceley Racing, they’ve worked so hard and to get the top step for them is just a huge achievement.”

Consistency proved the key for Morgan this year, as he explains: “We knew because it’s not the biggest grid in the world, if you kept finishing and keep it on the podium and in the points, we’d be there or thereabouts come the end of the year and its paid off.”

Morgan now gets to look ahead to a drive in the 2012 BTCC, the Preston-based driver adding: “I can’t wait, it’s a dream come true. It’s what i’ve thought about for years, so to go up against some of my heroes from when I was younger, its fantastic.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Ginetta GT4 Supercup

Ginetta Jr. vice-champion Josh Rattican steps up to Ginetta GT4 SuperCup

1 Mins read
After a stellar year in Ginetta Juniors, Josh Rattican is making the move up to Ginetta GT4 SuperCup for 2021.
BTCCF4 British ChampionshipGinetta GT4 SupercupGinetta JuniorMINI ChallengePorsche Carrera Cup GBPorsche Sprint Challenge GB

TOCA announces August start for 2020 BTCC and support categories' season

1 Mins read
TOCA has unveiled a tentative 27-race calendar for the 2020 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship and all support categories, set to begin in August
Ginetta GT4 Supercup

2019 Champions Amongst First Confirmed GT4 SuperCup Entrants

2 Mins read
The first five drivers set to contest the 2020 Millers Oils Ginetta GT4 SuperCup have been announced.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply