Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans Series

Double Award Wraps Up Winning Year For Tom Kimber-Smith

1 Mins read
Tom Kimber-Smith with the Woolf Barnato Trophy

Tom Kimber-Smith with the Woolf Barnato Trophy

After a season in which he won the LMP2 class title in the Le Mans Series and at the 24 Hours of Le Mans Tom KimberSmith picked up two prestigious awards at two separate awards ceremonies.

Tom's first accolade came from the Guild of Motoring Writers annual awards held on December 1 at the RAC Club in Pall Mall, collecting the 2011 Driver of the Year award. Kimber-Smith joins a long line of motorsport greats to be given the award including Juan Manuel Fangio, Stirling Moss, Damon Hill, and Sebastien Loeb. Kimber-Smith collected the award from another man on the list of past winners – triple F1 champion Jackie Stewart.

The 27-year-old's next award came from the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) a few days later (December 5) in an event hosted by Jake Humphrey.

Kimber-Smith was awarded the Woolf Barnato Trophy for his eighth place in the Greaves Motorsport run Zytek-Nissan. Named in honour of three time overall Le Mans winner Barnato – one of the fabled Bentley Boys – the prize is given to the highest finishing British or Commonwealth driver in a British car at the 24 Hours.

Tom Kimber-Smith with Sir Jackie Stewart

Kimber-Smith collected the Guild of Motoring Writers Driver of the Year award from Sir Jackie Stewart

“After working hard all year it is very nice to be recognised for my efforts,” said Kimber-Smith. “The Guild of Motoring Writers Driver of the Year Award is very special as there are many great previous winners, and I couldn't have imagined before that I would win a trophy that was once held by so many incredible names. The BRDC Woolf Barnato Trophy is another great award and one of the oldest trophies in the Club. The BRDC is the best motorsport club in the world and to pick up the – seriously heavy! – trophy in front of all my fellow members and guests was a great feeling. I'm now looking forward to picking up my LMS championship trophy in January next year.”

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Glickenhaus Reveals WEC LMH Driver Line Up

2 Mins read
Ahead of their FIA World Endurance Championship debut, Scuderia Glickenhaus have announced their seven-strong roster of drivers for the 2021 season.
European Le Mans SeriesFormula Regional European Championship

Colapinto to Skip FRECA Opener at Imola Due to ELMS Commitments in Spain

1 Mins read
Franco Colapinto will miss this weekend’s races at Imola as he focuses on racing in the European Le Mans Series in Barcelona.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

ByKolles Names Test and Development Drivers for Hypercar Project

2 Mins read
Tom Dillmann and Esteban Guerrieri have been announced as ByKolles Racing’s test and development drivers for their Le Mans Hypercar project.

Leave a Reply