Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Touring CarsV8 Supercars

Craig Lowndes On Pole For V8 Supercars Season Opener

1 Mins read
Craig Lowndes takes pole at the Clipsal 500 Photo credit: Team Vodafone

Craig Lowndes takes pole at the Clipsal 500 Photo credit: Team Vodafone

Team Vodafone's Craig Lowndes has landed the first pole position of the 2012 V8 Supercars Championship season at the Clipsal 500.

Lowndes set the fastest lap time in today’s Top Ten Shootout beating Holden Racing Team's Garth Tander by just 0.017s to secure his first ever pole start at the Adelaide circuit and his 27th career pole.

Sharing the second row will be Trading Post Ford Performance Racing's Will Davison in third and Tekno Autosport's Jonathon Webb, who achieved a personal best qualifying spot to take fourth.

Defending champion Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone) will start from fifth ahead of Tim Slade (Lucky 7 Racing), Mark Winterbottom (Orrcon Steel Ford Performance Racing), David Reynolds (The Bottle-O Racing Team), Fabian Coulthard (Lockwood Racing) and Shane van Gisbergen (SP Tools Racing).

Race 1 starting order:

1 Craig Lowndes TeamVodafone 1:21.2738
2 Garth Tander Holden Racing Team 1:21.2908 0:00.0170
3 Will Davison Trading Post FPR Ford 1:21.4194 0:00.1456
4 Jonathon Webb Tekno Autosports 1:21.5164 0:00.2426
5 Jamie Whincup TeamVodafone 1:21.5468 0:00.2730
6 Tim Slade Lucky 7 Racing 1:21.6288 0:00.3550
7 Mark Winterbottom Orrcon Steel FPR Ford 1:21.7093 0:00.4355
8 David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team 1:21.8078 0:00.5340
9 Fabian Coulthard Lockwood Racing 1:22.0289 0:00.7551
10 Shane Van Gisbergen SP Tools Racing 1:22.3105 0:01.0367
11 Todd Kelly Jack Daniel's Racing 1:21.2386 0:00.4227
12 Tony D'Alberto Tony D'Alberto Racing 1:21.3746 0:00.5587
13 James Courtney Holden Racing Team 1:21.4035 0:00.5876
14 Rick Kelly Jack Daniel's Racing 1:21.4148 0:00.5989
15 Lee Holdsworth Irwin Racing 1:21.4880 0:00.6721
16 Michael Caruso Fujitsu Racing GRM 1:21.4966 0:00.6807
17 Steve Owen V.I.P. Petfoods 1:21.5431 0:00.7272
18 Steven Johnson Jim Beam Racing 1:21.5915 0:00.7756
19 James Moffat Team Norton DJR 1:21.5928 0:00.7769
20 Michael Patrizi Tekno Autosports 1:21.6802 0:00.8643
21 Russell Ingall Supercheap Auto Racing 1:21.7532 0:00.9373
22 Greg Murphy Pepsi Max Crew 1:21.7964 0:00.9805
23 Dean Fiore Jim Beam Racing 1:21.9426 0:01.1267
24 Taz Douglas Team iSelect 1:22.1907 0:01.3748
25 Alexandre Premat Fujitsu Racing GRM 1:22.1991 0:01.3832
26 David Wall Wilson Security Racing 1:22.4358 0:01.6199
27 Jason Bright Team BOC 1:29.3326 0:08.5167
Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply