Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Ortelli and Vanthoor Lead Home Audi 1-2 At Nogaro

3 Mins read
The Ortelli/Vanthoor combination proved too strong for new GT1 field (Photo Credit: Arno Murith/SRO)

The Ortelli/Vanthoor combination proved too strong for new GT1 field (Photo Credit: Arno Murith/SRO)

The new-look FIA GT1 World Championship got underway at Nogaro in France with Stephane Ortelli and Laurens Vanthoor taking victory for Audi in the qualifying race. 

The field took the start in very slippery conditions, with Czech single-seater convert Filip Salaquarda visibly struggling in the opening laps behind the wheel of the pole-sitting AF Corse Ferrari, but managing to hold off Vanthoor and Britain's Oliver Jarvis in the second WRT R8.  Salaquarda's lead was not to last however, his countryman Tomas Enge, who made the switch to the Reiter Engineering Lamborghini team in the off-season, carving his way from seventh on the grid to the front as early as lap 4. 

Stuck behind Salaquarda, an increasingly-impatient Vanthoor was himself having to fend off the advances of 2005 British F3 champion Alvaro Parente, the Portuguese flying the flag alone for McLaren after Stef Dusseldorf crashed the sister car en route to the grid.  As chinks in Salaquarda's armour started to appear however, 19-year old Belgian Vanthoor eventually muscled his way past, and was soon followed by Parente and Jarvis, dropping the Ferrari down to fifth, which Toni Vilander could not improve in the second stint. 

During the pitstop phase, Hexis turned the McLaren around faster than WRT, allowing Gregoire Demoustier to emerge ahead of Ortelli, albeit still behind the Lamborghini now piloted by Albert von Thurn und Taxis

However, Demoustier's second-place was short-lived, Ortelli powering past his less-experienced counterpart on cold-tyres within half a lap.  Third soon became fourth for Demoustier with Frank Stippler, having taken over from Jarvis, demoting the French GT3 graduate further with an aggressive pass into Turn 1. 

As the track dried, von Thurn und Taxis' handling got progressively worse, and was easy meat for the charging Audi pairing, first Ortelli, and then Stippler with just four minutes left on the clock.  Nevertheless, he was delighted to round off the podium finishers ahead of Demoustier, Vilander's Ferrari, and the battling Munnich Motorsport Mercedes pair of Marc Basseng/Markus Winkelhock and Nicky Pastorelli/Thomas Jager

It is such a great win for us – I cannot believe we won the first race,” a delighted Ortelli said. “We had been testing on Tuesday in the damp and we did not expect to have a car that would cope as well in these conditions.”

Winning the race is a dream start, and making it a one-two for Audi is just amazing.”

Former DTM man Jarvis was happy with second, but the 2005 McLaren Autosport Award winner is still waiting for his first win under a roof, having last won at Zandvoort in the single-seater A1GP championship back in 2007. 

I think we have had a very strong start in very difficult conditions for everyone,” Jarvis said.  It's very close out there; we have some great teams and some great drivers. I think it will be a close season.”

Ortelli will start the points-scoring feature race from pole tomorrow with team-mate Stippler alongside. After Dusseldorp's embarrassing faux pas, Frenchman Fred Makowiecki will be entrusted with starting the feature race from the back of the grid. 

It was really difficult, we left on new tyres – we had three new sets after the problems in qualifying,” a devastated Dusseldorp said. “I wanted to warm up the tyres well for Fred in the second stint, but especially with the wet conditions and more rain on the track, and new tyres, it was quite tricky.  I didn't push, but maybe I made a small mistake or with the gears – it's difficult to see on the data – and just crashed into the wall a little bit, but a little bit too much and it was over unfortunately.”

Pos. Drivers Team/ Car Gap
1. Laurens Vanthoor/ Stephane Ortelli WRT Audi 1h00m26.351s
2. Oliver Jarvis/ Frank Stippler WRT Audi + 6.030s
3. Tomas Enge/ Albert von Thurn und Taxis Reiter Lamborghini + 6.914s
4. Alvaro Parente/ Gregoire Demoustier Hexis McLaren + 7.164s
5. Filip Salaquarda/ Toni Vilander AF Corse Ferrari + 31.293s
6. Marc Basseng/ Markus Winkelhock Munnich Mercedes + 33.785s
7. Nicky Pastorelli/ Thomas Jager Munnich Mercedes + 34.414s
8. Darryl O'Young/ Peter Kox Reiter Lamborghini + 47.177s
9. Mike Parisy/ Matt Halliday Exim Porsche + 48.622s
10. Enzo Ide/ Francesco Castellacci           AF Corse Ferrari + 49.997s
11. Yelmer Buurman/ Michael Bartels Vita4One BMW           + 57.791s
12. Nikolaus Mayr-Melnhof/ Matias Lauda Vita4One BMW           + 1m02.466s
13. Andreas Zuber/ Sergey Afanasyev Valmon Aston + 1 lap
14. Benjamin Lariche/ Ren Wei Exim Porsche + 1 lap
15. Milos Pavlovic/ Matteo Cressoni SUNRED Ford + 2 laps
16. Maxime Martin/ Alexey Vasilyev Valmon Aston + 2 laps
Related posts

Team Turkey Celebrate FIA GT Nations Cup Success

1 Mins read
Salih Yoluc and Ayhancan Guven gave their thoughts after winning the inaugural FIA GT Nations Cup race

Oman Racing Team Aiming High on Home Soil

1 Mins read
Following a strong series debut at Monza the Oman Racing Team are hunting a top ten as the Blancpain Endurance Series arrives…

Grasser Lamborghini Duo Secure Brands Hatch Main Race Win

1 Mins read
Hari Proczyk and Jeroen Bleekemolen controlled the Blancpain Sprint Series main race at Brands Hatch from start to finish to secure victory…

Leave a Reply