Road Racing

TT 2012: Anstey Beats Donald In Supersport Classic

1 Mins read
Bruce Anstey - Photo Credit: Pacemaker

Bruce Anstey - Photo Credit: Pacemaker


Bruce Anstey pipped Cameron Donald in the second closest finish in TT history to win the first Monster Energy Supersport race of the week. Along with Gary Johnson, the three riders were neck and neck throughout but the New Zealander edged it by three quarters of a second.

2012 Isle of Man TT
Monster Energy Supersport 1
1  Bruce Anstey 1:12:55.92
2  Cameron Donald +0.77
3  William Dunlop +21.88
4  John McGuinness +30.24
5  James Hillier +2:29.94
6  Ian Lougher +2:40.14
TT Championship Standings
1  Bruce Anstey 41 Pts
2  Cameron Donald 40 Pts
3  John McGuinness 38 Pts

After dominating qualifying week, the Dunlop brothers were quickest out of the blocks and Michael opened up a ten second lead at the end of lap one before doubling it at half distance. Disaster struck on the third lap though when the Yamaha rider stopped at Glen Helen, handing the lead to Johnson after quick pit work from the Lincs Lifting Honda crew moved him ahead of Donald by 3.5s. Anstey was close behind in third with William Dunlop also in contention in fourth.

Less than a second covered the top three at Ramsey but the race began to swing Anstey's way at the Bungalow as Johnson slowed, apparently out of fuel. Cameron Donald was the first man over the finish line but Anstey pipped him on corrected timing, winning the race by 0.77s. William Dunlop's challenge faded on the last lap but Johnson's misfortune promoted him to third while the former leader had to push his bike home, falling all the way down to 28th.

John McGuinness was fourth ahead of James Hillier in a career-best fifth while Ian Lougher beat Roy Richardson by a hundredth of a second for sixth. The Barnes Racing rider was the first privateer to the finish though, one place ahead of Dan Stewart who holds an eight point lead in the privateer standings.

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
Road Racing

Isle of Man TT 2020 cancelled amid Coronavirus fears

1 Mins read
The 2020 Isle of Man TT is cancelled due to coronavirus fears
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.
Road Racing

Hickman claims Macau Grand Prix pole

1 Mins read
Peter Hickman has taken pole position for the 53rd Edition of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix.