Road Racing

TT 2012: Anstey Hits The Front On Thursday Evening

2 Mins read
Bruce Anstey - Photo Credit: Isle of Man TT

Bruce Anstey - Photo Credit: Isle of Man TT


Bruce Anstey ended John McGuinness' domination of the Superbike class at the 2012 Isle of Man TT by topping Thursday evening's qualifying session. Following rain earlier in the day, the fastest times were down in all classes but Padgetts Honda's Anstey proved an exception, going quicker than he had at any stage this week.

2012 Isle of Man TT: Thursday Round-Up
Superbike Classification (Top 3)
1  B Anstey 128.815mph
2  M Rutter 128.072mph
3  G Martin 126.939mph
Superstock Classification (Top 3)
1 J Hillier 125.664mph
2 G Johnson 125.206mph
3  R Farquhar 124.630mph
Supersport Classification (Top 3)
1 W.Dunlop 125.467mph
2  M.Dunlop 124.370mph
3  B Anstey 123.649mph
Lightweight Classification (Top 3)
1  I Lougher 113.023mph
2  J Hillier 112.952mph
3  M Rutter 112.121mph

Anstey's lap was clocked at 128.815mph and proving the value of experience, Michael Rutter also broke the 128mph barrier after lapping the mountain course in close company to Anstey. Guy Martin was third fastest tonight but previous pacesetters John McGuinness and Cameron Donald played it safe down in seventh and eighth. Their flying laps from previous sessions were unbeaten though and they remain first and third respectively in the combined classification, sandwiching Anstey.

James Hillier maintained his lead in the Superstock class despite setting a lap time 17 seconds slower than the day before, such was the effect of the damp parts of tarmac at Glen Helen. Gary Johnson, who won his first ever TT race 12 months ago, showed his best form of the week so far to claim second while Ryan Farquhar took third.

The change in conditions didn't alter things at the top of the Supersport class as William and Michael Dunlop locked out the top two positions for the third day in succession. Once again, the elder of the two brothers was quickest while Michael's life was made difficult by debris becoming caught in his radiator, forcing him to stop at the Ramsey Hairpin.

Although the roads weren't offering as much grip as the riders hoped, those in the Lightweight class were glad to get some more track time and Ian Lougher lapped the mountain course in 113.023mph to go fastest. James Hillier and Michael Rutter were second and third respectively while Ryan Farquhar stayed at the top of the overall leaderboard despite retiring during the session and failing to set a time on his KMR Kawasaki.

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
British SuperbikeDakarRoad Racing

Isle of Man TT winner James Hillier set for Dakar Rally debut in 2023 Malle Moto

2 Mins read
After a delay, James Hillier will make his first Dakar Rally start in 2023. Riding in the Malle Moto class, he will be the first Isle of Man TT winner to challenge Dakar.
Road Racing

Isle of Man TT 2020 cancelled amid Coronavirus fears

1 Mins read
The 2020 Isle of Man TT is cancelled due to coronavirus fears
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.