2012 Britcar 24 Hours: Hour 13 Update

1 Mins read

The 2012 Britcar 24 Hours reached its halfway mark with the Class 2 BMW MP Motorsport still leading the field with a comfortable margin over the chasing Class 1 cars.

The hour began under the fifth safety car of the proceedings, however it was only a short period of time before the green flag racing began. The safety car caused a jam of cars at the end of the pitlane, after a number of cars were held at pit exit. A majority of the cars filtered out problem free, however the #35 Marcos managed to collect the #93 Mission Motorsport car as they met on the exit of Copse corner.

The hour saw little action apart from the coming together of two key Class 3 protagonists, with the only other note worthy action being in Class 4, where the leaders were separated by 15 seconds or less throughout the hour and in a fight for fourth place the the #88 Rollcenter Racing car and the #78 Piranha crossed the line side-by-side at the end of the hour.

In Class 1, the hour finished with MB Racing Aston Martin leading the way with the #17 Strara 21 Mosler six laps behind. In Class 2, the MP Motorsport BMW continues to lead the class and field, holding a more than comfortable lead over the chasing pack. In Class 3 the hour ended with the class leading, and fourth overall, #60 Perfection Racing Aston Martin being pushed into the garage just a few laps a pit stop. The second placed MMC Motorsport Seat is well down on the #60, however their lead depends on how long they stay in the garage.

2012 Britcar 24 Standings After 13 Hours:

Class One:

1 -MB Racing – West/Wall/Brown/Cripps

2 -Neil Garner Motorsport – White/Cintrano/Morcillo/Sharp

3 – Team LNT – Tomlinson/Kimber-Smith/Dean/Simpson

Class Two:

1 –
MP Motorsport – Poole/Symons/Bardwell/Abra

2 – Optimum Motorsport – Osborne/Mowle/Fletcher/Rattenbury

3 – Topcats Racing – Huggins/Bankhurst/Black/Solivellas

Class Three

1 – Perfection Racing – Spires/Jensen/Johanson/Holmgaard/Klosterman

2- MMC Motorsport – Cox/Borness/Cox/Cox

3 -Intersport Racing – Clarke/Gibson/Hayes/Radcliffe

Class Four:

1 – Brunswick Automotive – Griffiths/Green/Kirkpatrick/Forsbrey

2 – – Thijssen/De Heus/Breukers

3 – Team Toyota GB – Hodgetts/Death/Death

58 posts

About author
Michael is currently studying Motoring Journalism at the University for the Creative Arts in Farnham, Surrey. You can follow him on Twitter at Google+ Profile
Related posts
Extreme EOther

Arctic XPrix guide: Greenland's first-ever motorsport event in the history

4 Mins read
Have a read on some insights of #ArcticXPrix to prepare yourself for the first motorsport event in the area.
British GTOther

Al Harthy, Lind, Valente and Robertson claim Snetterton Poles

4 Mins read
The Aston Martin of Ahmad Al Harthy and McLaren of Alain Valente has secured pole for the first sprint race of the British GT season, Dennis Lind’s Lamboghini and Charlie Robertson’s Ginetta head the fields for race 2.
British GTOther

Steller Motorsport to run GT4 Audi in British GT

1 Mins read
Steller Motorsport will contest for GT4 honours in British GT this season, after Silver Cup line-ups were outlawed in GT3.