Stone Brothers’ Luke Youlden Wins Co-Driver Qualifying Race

by Andy Champness

Luke Youlden held firm to take out the opening Qualifying Race and give Stone Brothers Racing a long-awaited victory in the first of the two Dick Smith Sandown 500 20-lap qualifying races.

Piloting team-mate Shane van Gisbergen’s SP Tools Racing Falcon, Youlden made a great start jumping into the lead from third on the grid, ahead of polesitter John McIntyre in the Tradingpost FPR Falcon.

Despite coming under attack from McIntyre for much of the race, Youlden resisted the pressure to claim the win and 50 championship points.

With four laps to go, McIntyre made a mistake at the final turn as his rear tyres faded which opened the door to The Bottle-O Racing Team’s Dean Canto and TeamVodafone’s Paul Dumbrell.

Dumbrell who had started out in tenth, then found his way past Canto on the penultimate lap to follow Youlden home by 0.2s.

McIntyre finished fourth, with Warren Luff taking fifth in the second TeamVodafone Commodore.

It was a disastrous start for Orrcon Steel FPR’s Steven Richards, when Paul Morris in the VIP Petfoods Racing Falcon collided with Lockwood Racing’s David Besnard on the opening lap, who in turn pushed Steven Richards into a spin. Morris was handed a drive-through penalty for the contact and was relegated to 28th, while Richards recovered to 19th. And it was to get worse following the race after the #5 Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon was excluded for a post-race parc-ferme infringement, leaving  Mark Winterbottom to start Qualifying Race 2 from the back of the grid.

With Winterbottom’s entry not scoring and Dumbrell collecting the points for second, Whincup’s championship lead increases to 31 points.

The finishing order sets the grid order for the second qualifying race for the main drivers.

Full Qualifying Race 1 result:

1 SP Tools Racing Luke Youlden Ford Falcon FG 20 23:57.8838
2 TeamVodafone Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 20 23:58.1048
3 The Bottle-O Racing Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG 20 23:58.3484
4 Trading Post FPR Ford John McIntyre Ford Falcon FG 20 23:59.8790
5 TeamVodafone Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:00.1831
6 Holden Racing Team Nick Percat Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:01.1582
7 Tekno Autosports Scott McLaughlin Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:01.5507
8 Lucky 7 Racing Andrew Thompson Ford Falcon FG 20 24:02.4490
9 Fujitsu Racing GRM Greg Ritter Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:02.7321
10 Team Norton DJR Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 20 24:04.8367
11 Holden Racing Team Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:05.1772
12 Jack Daniel’s Racing David Russell Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:06.6871
13 Team BOC Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:07.0057
14 Irwin Racing Craig Baird Ford Falcon FG 20 24:09.0900
15 Jim Beam Racing Matthew Halliday Ford Falcon FG 20 24:11.8509
16 Team Hiflex Dale Wood Ford Falcon FG 20 24:12.3545
17 Jack Daniel’s Racing Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:12.6725
18 Wilson Security Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:15.6390
19 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 20 24:16.0105
20 Supercheap Auto Racing Christian Klien Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:16.3424
21 Fujitsu Racing GRM Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:22.3482
22 Pepsi Max Crew Owen Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:22.9355
23 Team iSelect Scott Pye Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:25.0211
24 Lockwood Racing David Besnard Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:25.5572
25 Fair Dinkum Racing Daniel Gaunt Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:26.2122
26 Tekno Autosports Jonny Reid Holden Commodore VE2 20 24:26.5340
27 Jim Beam Racing Allan Simonsen Ford Falcon FG 20 24:32.9682
28 VIP Petfoods Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 20 24:58.7932

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More