Abu Dhabi Double For Whincup In History-Making Holden

by Andy Champness

Jamie Whincup continued his incredible Abu Dhabi winning streak notching up a second consecutive victory at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Just 90 minutes after victory in the first race, the TeamVodafone driver out-dragged pole-sitter Will Davison into turn one and was never headed, leading the 12-lap race from start to finish.

Davison in the Tradingpost FPR Ford finished just under three seconds behind Whincup, with SP Tools Racing’s Shane Van Gisbergen scoring his second podium of the day in a repeat of the top three positions of the opening race.

Orrcon Steel FPR’s Mark Winterbottom fell just short of a podium finish after he worked his way up to fourth, passing IRWIN Racing’s Lee Holdsworth on lap two and closing the gap on van Gisbergen to just 0.5s at the flag.

Whincup’s win makes the TeamVodafone Holden – Triple Eight Engineering chassis #023 – the most successful individual chassis in V8 Supercars history with 26 wins.

The win also gives Whincup a 270-point championship lead over Winterbottom going into tomorrow’s race, with just five races of the Championship remaining.

Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander was fifth ahead of Lucky 7 Racing’s Tim Slade, The Bottle-O Racing Team’s David Reynolds, Lee Holdsworth, Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb and Lockwood Racing’s Fabian Coulthard.

In another relatively trouble-free race, all 28 cars finished the race.

The third and final 12 lap race of the weekend will take place on Sunday.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More