British GT

Trackspeed Confirm Three Car Attack For 2013 Season

1 Mins read
Trackspeed will run three cars again in 2013 (Photo Credit: Chris Gurton Photography)

After winning the team’s championship in 2012 in the face of increasing competition Trackspeed will again field a trio of Porsches in the 2013 Avon Tyres British GT Championship.

Though the full driver line-up remains to be announced – the team are inviting potential customers to try the newly upgraded 2013 997 GT3 R model – it is confirmed that 2010 champion David Ashburn will move into retirement, despite missing out on the 2012 title by just 3.5 points at the end of the Donington Park finale.

“With different bodywork and much better aero,” explained team manager Keith Cheetham, “the 997 will be a wider, meaner machine next year and this should put us right bang on top of the pile of new GT3 cars currently running.”

“The third car is currently available so we’re also interested to hear from people about that.”

Meanwhile, Jon Minshaw, the Demon Tweeks boss who joined the team for 2012 is half of the team’s first confirmed line-up for the new season, set to partner Phil Keen for the full season.

Minshaw drove with Tim Harvey last year, the pair ending the season eleventh in points after scoring two podiums in the ten race season. Keen three times teamed up with Ashburn last season – at Rockingham, Silverstone and Donington Park.

“This is a great opportunity for me to join Trackspeed for a full year and to drive the awesome new 2013 Porsche 997 GT3 R car,” said Keen. “I’ve done a lot of mileage on the circuits featured in British GT, bar Zandvoort, so hopefully I should be on the pace straight away. British GT is increasing in status around the world and 2013 is going to be very competitive so I feel it’s a great place to further my GT career.”

2902 posts

About author
James is our Diet-Coke fuelled writer and has been with TCF pretty much since day 1, he can be found frequenting twitter at @_JBroomhead
Related posts
British GTEndurance RacingEuropean GT4 SeriesPirelli World Challenge

Lotus Unveil All-New Emira GT4 Race Car at Thrilling Launch

3 Mins read
Lotus have unveiled their brand-new Emira GT4 race car at the legendary Hethel test track, in what is a new era of GT racing for the famous manufacturer.
British GTFeaturesGT CupPorsche Carrera Cup GBRoss Wylie Column

Ross Wylie Column: 2022 is go! British GT return and GT Cup underway

3 Mins read
Ross Wylie’s season is underway in the GT Cup as he defends his title, along with an opportunity to drive for Valluga in the British GT championship and a visit to the Carrera Cup GB.
British GTOther

Drama as red flag complicates Round Two at Oulton

5 Mins read
Kelvin Fletcher brought the McLaren he shares with Martin Plowman home for Paddock Motorsport’s first overall win in the British GT Championship.